Popcorn and Unclaimed Blessings

Years ago now, before the common use of the microwave oven, we used to make popcorn in a large saucepan over the kitchen stove.  It actually didn’t take too long to make and dirtied one pan and a few bowls.  The popcorn at my house when I was a child was also homegrown popcorn.  My dad, a farmer, planted some each year for our family supply.  It was common to find in the bottom of one’s bowl a few kernels that did not pop or were partially popped.  Since we were not conscious of social correctness, we called the unpopped kernels, old maids.  

By the time I went to college, our family now had invested in an electric corn popper.  It was more predictable and popped nearly every kernel.  It was in college that I learned that the term, old maid was rude.  Since my college days were spent in a Christian college, (Pillsbury Baptist Bible College) the single girls who felt they might never marry, described themselves as unclaimed blessings.

In 1974 it was my pleasure to meet a real lady who was indeed, an unclaimed blessing!  When I think now of all the wonderful things she did for me, I am overwhelmed with emotion.  She canned green beans, carrots, corn, and pickled cucumbers with me every summer.  We hoed in the garden so early we hoed, laughed, and shared our lives as the sun came up.  But I am not the only one.  She has offered her life in many ways to many people.  She might seem an unclaimed blessing because she never married, but I disagree!  Her name is Margaret.  She is a blessing! Countless students passed though her science classroom where she challenged and helped them.  Countless numbers of children sat beside her in church and learned love and behavior patterns.  What this nation needs is lots of “Margarets.”

Please, do not scorn your singleness.  Use it for the glory of God and the furtherance of His Kingdom.

 

3 Comments

  1. Glenda

    I appreciate this collection of memories. What a blessing those “Margarets” are in our lives! Mine was a widow lady who lived with her son and his family, next door to us as I was growing up. She really paid a lot of attention to my sister and me, although she was in a wheelchair due to having her legs amputated above the knee because of complications of diabetes. It seemed that she always had some little knickknack for us, and they were very special. It was a very painful thing when she passed away, but I’m sure we’ll see her again. Her son was an alcoholic and would sometimes come home and threaten to beat his wife and children. They would come to our house for shelter, and would go around to the basement door–just a dirt basement–and hide there, knowing that he might force his way into our house. Thankfully, he later gave his life to the Lord and became an outstanding husband and father. I know his mother would have been pleased to see such a complete change in his life.

    Back to the popcorn, my dad would always buy an electric popper for anyone we knew who was getting married. He thought that was just about the greatest invention ever!! Lots of happy memories! Thank you for sharing with us!

    • Thank you, Glenda. If I sparked a memory/blessing I am glad. It is important to also be a “Margaret” to someone if the Lord allows. Sometimes I check what is making me busy to see if I am busy with the right things!

  2. I’ve found youre article on my iPhone 4 Kopen and i wanna say thanks for it! It’s a nice www you have over here! I’ll visit it more in the future! Thanks, Frank

Leave a Reply

