Ants vs Me

Observations from daily living

This week I came to the conclusion that a war was raging.  Ants vs. Karyl.  It just became a tiresome task to divert their trails through the kitchen.  I tried old time remedies but it seemed those ants had more reinforcements than I. They seemed very determined to find refreshing water in my sink.  The time for insecticide had come.  After hunting among the bottles of various toxins for weeds and vermin, I found exactly what I wanted.  Since it had been a year that I had been forced to rid the house of ants, and yard of fleas, it was necessary to read the label instructions and not rely on my memory as to the ratio of poison to water.

Since my macular degeneration makes reading fine print difficult, I found a grandson to read the label for me.  We struggled through where to spray, when to spray, how to spray, and how to clean up.  Finally, at the end of the reading was a section called, “Precautions.”  Since Kholton just finished fifth grade, precautions was not yet in his vocabulary.  I explained, “Well, that is what to do if you don’t read the directions.”  His reply:  “We don’t need to read this then, do we?”

Oh, that we were all that positive!  Don’t worry about the wrong thing, just do the right thing.  The Apostle Paul said of the Roman Believers, “. . .  yet I would have you wise unto that which is good, and simple concerning evil.”  Warnings are necessary, but the good needs to come first; then the precautionary measures. Concentrating on the correct will eliminate the incorrect. (Mostly.)

By the way, I have not seen an ant since I “discouraged” them.

 

 

5 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Oh, how true this is! Similar to the expression “practice makes perfect,” which our friend Theresa does not like because of her piano teaching background. She says “PERFECT practice makes perfect!” If we are to be successful, we need to be sure that we take all the correct precautions, then we can avoid an emergency, or we can at least be prepared to deal with the outcome of our actions. Thank you for this reminder, and I hope those pesky critters will stay away!!!

  2. I love object lessons from everyday life, and this one is a classic:)

    I just caught up on your blog, especially liked the post on Puryer Reeves. Most interesting.

    • Object lessons from just living has been a strength of mine since I met my friend of whom I speak lovingly, Margaret. Margaret was a science teacher for more than 30 years and saw God in all creation. My father-in-law, likewise, used to challenge children to bring him something for which he could make an object lesson “on the spot” and he was seldom stumped, if ever. My hope is that readers of these little blogs will gather some object lessons or illustrations for their personal lesson teaching. At the very least, I would love for folks to see God in everything. The very first Beatitude is “Blessed are the pure for they shall see God.” Most Bible teachers I have studied agree that the verse could be aptly translated, “. . .they shall see God in everything.” When we walk in the Shepherd’s Presence, we will have more of a tendency to be perceptive to the why’s and wherefore’s of daily happenings. I’ll leave the deeper studies to you! I study, but you communicate the study so well in writing.

      • Well, thank you! And I’m with you–we tend to see things with spiritual eyes when we walk in the Shepherd’s Presence. Love that.

  3. VERY GOOD!!!!!!!! That sums it up doesn’t it???? Do what you know is right & then you don’t have to worry…!

Leave a Reply

