In a Moment

Earlier this evening the electricity went out.  It was not out for long at all—perhaps only two or three seconds.  That, let’s say, three seconds, caused interesting stuff.  I was watching the Mike Huckabee show.  I missed about five or six minutes getting a DISH signal back and readjusting the channel.  The computer screen gave me a strange message and of course, it had to load up again.  Every electronic clock had to be reset except for the one with the battery backup. The microwave had to be cleared and reset.  I may yet find something else, but for now, all is well.

A few short words can change a whole relationship.  Think of the simple things we say that encourage people:                 “Good job!”

“I have good news.”

“I love you.”

“Your test results. . .” are just a few words and you can think of many more.  Then there are the hurtful, damaging words:

“I’m leaving.”

“Your job is being terminated.”

“Your test results. . .”

“Unfortunately. . .”

“Don’t talk to me again.”  Those words take only seconds to say, but sometimes the road to healing from those words is a long, difficult journey.

“I’m coming,” or “I’m on my way” are words of hope.  That is exactly what Jesus gave us when he told his disciples:  “And if I go. . .I will come again and receive you unto myself that where I am, there you may be also.”  (John 14:3)  When will that happen?  We do not know.  Just as I did not know that the power was going to blip away for a moment and change so many things, we do not know when Jesus is coming again to fulfill his promise.  But here it is: “in a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the trumpet shall sound, and the dead shall be raised incorruptible, and we shall be changed.”(I Corinthians 15:52)  Electronic companies are prepared for power outages.  How much more should we be prepared for that moment, so short it is compared to the twinkling of the eye—that sparkle of the eye!  I am prepared.  I am waiting.  I am watching!  How about you?

 

4 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Oh, yes, I am ready! While we have that glorious hope, I have to remember that it is the fact that I will look into the face of my Savior that gives me such joy. Many times, we just look at His return as a way of getting out of this troubled world, and while it will be that, the most important part will be standing in His presence. Thank you for reminding us of this great fact from God’s word! These days, I’m seeing more and more of these reminders as well as the “signs” (tornadoes, earthquakes, natural phenomenon, etc.), as well as seeing many reminders of the importance of telling people we love them. I don’t know when Christ will return, but it’s good to remember that folks will be left behind unless we share the Gospel with them. Have a good night’s rest! 🙂

  2. Outstanding applications, Karyl. Words mean things, and are far more important than we realize.

  3. WOW!!!!! HOW TRUE!!!!!!! What a BEAUTIFUL ANALOGY!!!!!!! Did/do you teach Sunday School too?
    I have to say, words CAN change a relationship! Even when you tell the TRUTH, some don’t want to hear the truth! They want you to be a “YES PERSON!” Both, what you say, & how it’s received make the difference! Just like when a person hears the truth of the gospel, there are those who will reject it! They don’t like the feeling of conviction & they want to keep going in the direction they’re going!
    YES! I’m READY!!!!!!!! 🙂 I see people that God is trying to call back to Him….sadly, few will listen! They’re too busy lying to themselves! Or doing “works” to atone for their sins rather than be honest with themselves! Matthew 7:14, ” Because strait is the gate, and narrow is the way, which leadeth unto life, and few there be that find it.” HONESTY is a KEY! Whether it be with other men or with ones self! If you’re honest with yourself, then you’ll be honest with God & will be able to come to Him on bended knee & ask for the forgiveness we ALL need!

  4. Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon on a daily basis. It’s always interesting to read articles from other writers and use something from other web sites.

Leave a Reply

