Clouds without rain

Today I watched the sky periodically.  Dark clouds hid the son and the air was damp with humidity.  Apparently it would rain.  We need the rain.  It has not rained since mid-May here and some folks have already given up on gardens.

In fact, I made sure I had my umbrella with me.  I had a merchandising job that meant I had a load to carry into the store for a set up.  No worry.  I didn’t get wet.  Surely, I thought, by the time I am finished I’ll dodge puddles going back to the car.  When I left the store, it was the same as two hours before.  Dark clouds, humid, but no rain.

In the book of Jude I find harsh descriptions of apostates; those who creep into assemblies of unassuming people who trust too much in people and don’t know the Word of God.  They do not perceive the poison of apostasy.  Those deceivers bring seeds of reckless doctrine in sugarcoated, palpable doses.  Jude describes them as “clouds without rain, carried about by the winds.”

The clouds show promise of rain.  Those taken by apostasy are people who talk big, make promises of blessings, and don’t deliver.  They are carried about by winds of false doctrine.  Because of those imposters of the faith, we must also do as Jude tells in the beginning of this short book:  “it was needful for me to write unto you and exhort you that ye should earnestly contend for the faith which was once delivered unto the saints.”  Earnestly contend.

I let up that contending for awhile.  I trusted.  I was deceived.  A cloud without rain; a cloud who looked as if it might deliver could have damaged me. Fortunately, my spiritual thirst warned me.

The dark clouds, apparently without rain, reminded me today once more of God’s goodness in delivering me from what could have been very bad for my spiritual health. The Shepherd’s presence gave me that sure, loving guidance.

Jude is a short letter.  It won’t take long to read.  It will keep you focused, diligent to contend with the pilfering evils that surround us.

3 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Thank you for another wonderful, sobering reminder. The book of Jude, while it is very short, is chock full of great teaching, with warnings that we should all heed. I’m happy that you didn’t have to deal with rain while you were out today, but I know you need the rain badly. Perhaps it will come before the week is over. Take care of yourself!

  2. BEAUTIFUL once again! You are SO POETIC in your teachings! Not only warning us of the dangers the Word speaks about, but in such a BEAUTIFUL WAY! You have SUCH TALENT! GOD BLESS! 🙂

  3. salutations from over the world. informative blog I must return for more.

Leave a Reply

