June 15, 1215

Today I read a facebook post from World Atlas regarding the history of the Magna Carta.  It was on June 15, 1215, that Barons in England posed the document on England’s King John that he could no longer live above the law.  Regretfully, Pope Innocent III told him he would not have to abide by it.  That’s how powerful the Pope was in those times.  (Admit it, the Pope is still very powerful.)

The oppression of the Church and the King of England led to persecutions beyond belief.  It was really what we would consider an awful time for Believing Christians.  If you want to read some hair-raising stuff, just study the lives of those who fled from England during that time.  But, I digress.  My freedom, which I sometimes take so glibly, was purchased at the price of those who fled England.  Men who made their way to North America in search of freedom from oppressive monarchs and popes.  Men like William Bradford.

Before the souls of those on the Mayflower came ashore, they established the Mayflower Compact.  More than a hundred years later, another document assured my freedom:  The Declaration of Independence.  On Memorial Day I wrote a piece about Puryer Reeves, a man in our family, who fought for individual rights to be established and for a permanent break between England and what we know now as the United States of America.

Then a more permanent document under the hands of John Madison and his coworkers came into being:   the Constitution of the United States of America.   The document is so solid that it has survived now since 1789, March 4.  That document was fraught with heated arguments and debates.  Federalists and Anti-federalists let their opinions fly on pages of newspapers.  In spite of flaws here and there, our Constitution has endured.

Yes, it is written in language sometimes called, legalese but anyone with fifth grade reading ability can read and understand this beloved document.  With, or without this document, my freedom in Christ is assured.  Our American government founders knew that, but they further secured freedoms for all Americans and not just a few.  I applaud them today.  I applaud those brave men who first approached a highhanded King John with the Magna Carta.  They emboldened those who followed in their steps. A good day to remember:  June 15, 1215.

 

2 Comments

  1. Glenda

    WOW!!! I was trying to think whether this date had any significance and could not come up with anything. Thank you for this information. As a student, history was my least favorite subject, so I learned just what I had to know in order to make a good grade on my tests, then promptly forgot much of what I had supposedly learned. I now wish I had paid more attention, but I can’t go back, can I ?!? Anyway, today’s “history” from the 1950s is more like current events to me, so I’m able to appreciate all that has happened through those years leading up to today. Sometimes it’s a bit frightening, but we know that we are in the hands of our loving Savior, and He is always in control of the events we face. Thank you for this lesson today, and I shall attempt to remember next year that this is a special date to know!

  2. Reblogged this on The Shepherd's Presence and commented:

    Perhaps I am holding myself in grand esteem, but this afternoon upon thinking about that first Thanksgiving in 1621 I went back to 2012 and read some old weblogs. There is a series of seven blogs that concentrate on English history. I am amazed that I didn’t just call is quits that first year I wrote and published these blogs. I seldom received a “like” on them and very few comments. Undaunted by the nonapplause of men, I just forged forward. Today I am reblogging the first of those seven blogs. June 15, 1215, marks the beginning of American freedom. It is the birthdate of the Magna Carta.

Leave a Reply

