Obsolete

I actually looked fondly at the old blue stapler.  Mom somehow managed to pack it in a box of things she wanted to take with her when she moved to live with me.  The stapler was of all metal construction and the paint was worn down to bare metal where the fingers used it.  With great reluctance I put it in the trash.  It was hopelessly jammed and no one carries staples to fit it anymore.  How in the world, I thought, can throwing an old stapler away be difficult?  It was part of Mom.

My little, soft and worn leather-covered Scofield Bible is falling apart.  Some pages have holes in them.  It was a gift from a sweet friend in 1967.  The flyleaf says: “in honor of your graduation, June 2, 1967.” and is followed by some rhyming lines

This book will keep you from sin or sin will keep you from this book.

It would break my heart to throw this book away!  Yet, it is too fragile for frequent use any more.  Some people say that it is full of archaic and obsolete words.  Really?  How do words become obsolete?  The dictionary is always growing and new words are added every year.  The older words remain but in italics are delegated to the category, archaic, or obsolete. They are lovely, but not frequently used any more.  

Last Sunday my pastor used I Corinthians 16:13 in his sermon.  “. . . quit ye like men. . .”  it states.  Pastor did not say the word was obsolete.  He simply gave us the definition.  The context of the sentence easily tells us what it means anyhow.  It means, “Conduct, or behave” and my college dictionary says that it is archaic.  I think I’ll keep that word.

Psalm 119, as I have stated before, contains a reference to the Word of God in nearly every verse.  Two of those verses are firmly planted in my heart:  “Thy Word have I hid in my heart that I might not sin against Thee” (verse 11) and “Thy word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path.” (Verse 105).  We should know Psalm 23.  We should know it in the Authorized King James Version.  “He leadeth me. . .” and that Good Shepherd uses his Word for that guidance.

Those old words, thee and thy and thou, are musical and beautiful.  The Word of God is part of me.  I hope that when my children look at my Bible, they will say, It is part of Mom.

 

5 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Oh, I TOTALLY agree with you!!! I believe that our lives are enriched by the things we learned as children, and our children are being deprived of so much enrichment because things are “simplified” (dumbed down) for them. I hope your children will always treasure the Book that has led them through childhood and into young adulthood, and that their children will have the privilege of learning those “archaic” and “obsolete” terms. There’s a certain majesty and beauty in those old words, and in my opinion, they reflect on our Savior in a way that modern language cannot do. Thank you for this. Oh, I would have had trouble throwing away that old stapler, too…. 🙂

    • There is so little excuse for not adhering to God’s Word, in my opinion. In Linda’s Bible Study today she mentions how easy it is to go to God’s Word via electronic devices. I know, I listen to God’s Word via my computer now and then, or listen and read along at the same time. Saying the KJV is hard to understand is just a flimsy excuse in my opinion. It is said by those who know such things that the KJV can be read by those with a fifth grade education. I used to tell folks in the Bookstore when I worked there (the Bible was our number one seller) that I was a KJV girl. I’ve memorized so much of it in the KJV I get confused when I try to look something up in another version. I truly truly do mean it when I say everyone should memorize Psalm 23 in the KJV. Why not use those beautiful words. Our worship deserves our best for our Glorious Lord.

  2. Glenda

    MANY years ago, as we had our family devotional time, we would allow Daniel and Sarah to read the Scripture as they were able. By the time Daniel was four years old, he was reading it fluently, and we made sure he understood what he was reading. Sarah came right along behind him, never stumbling on any of the words. Even the long names were sounded out by the diacritical markings in the Bible we used. When SCC started a preschool class on Wednesday nights, Daniel was four, and the teacher asked me who taught him to read Deuteronomy as well as she could read it herself. I realize that we were blessed with a self-motivated child who always wanted to do everything the “grown-ups” were doing, and God gave him the brain to comprehend those things he was reading. He was also saved at the age of four, and we questioned him at great length to make sure he understood what he was doing. He is now 38, and has never doubted his salvation. The thing that saddens me a little these days is that both of our children use “modern” translations of the Bible. I’m afraid that my grandchildren will grow up without the wonderful language of the KJV. I suppose there’s something to be said for the more everyday language of some of those versions, but I like the language that sets our God apart from the everyday things of life, showing that He is above all and in all.

    I do my morning devotions online, and enjoy being able to cut and paste the Scripture that I share as my first status of the day rather than having to type it all, but my Bible is right beside me as I sit at the computer, and if there’s a question, I can look it up easily. Technology is wonderful, but there’s just something special about the Book itself!

  3. Someday I’ll post something about the Bible’s in my life. Reading in the “paper” rather than electronic also makes one able to cross reference. I have things cross referenced in my old Thompson Chain reference that are personal to me alone. I “got” something that was so personally mine that I cross referenced it, put a date beside it, etc. I carried and read from that particular copy from 1977 to 2002. In 2002 I switched to a giant print Bible that I still use, although I have to use a line magnifier to read it. I use my Kindle in church, but also carry my Bible, well, just because it seems like the right thing to do. If the pastor stays in one passage, the Kindle is okay, but when he jumps around, I just plain give up and listen only. Being able to see AND hear is best for me, however.
    Your son is amazing. On occasions when you have posted his blog, I have seen his writing ability far surpasses most writers and I don’t think he has to work at it! All of my children were reading from the KJV in family devotions by the time they were in the third grade, perhaps Denise read a little earlier than that. “Siblilng” pressure. They all carry KJV Bibles to church and Sunday School, but I do know that Denise also uses a more modern version for study.

  4. Glenda

    Thank you for your kind remarks about Daniel. I wish he had more time to blog, but he is quite involved with work, church, and family. He also reads a lot of political material, and many of his FB posts are along those lines.

    I think that one big influence on our children’s choice of a Bible has been the churches that they attend. They are both members of large, “progressive” churches, with a great emphasis on modern evangelism. The pastors of their churches do not normally wear suit and tie, but prefer polo shirts and dress slacks, or sometimes even jeans. Daniel’s church does have a very active youth ministry, complete with AWANA on Wednesday nights, and there are many “small groups” that meet at various times during the week, sometimes at a person’s home rather than at church. I know that churches sometimes have to change to attract the people in the community, but it bothers me a little when I see such a casual attitude reflected in the way folks dress sometimes. My friend Chris Allman discussed such a trend a few days ago in his blog, and he got lots of responses, as you might imagine!

    Well, I’ll stop for now! I do enjoy the cross-referencing that I can do when I use the Bible, and the only time I read online is in the mornings, so I can do that cut/paste thing. It’s amazing how much of the Bible is connected, and how relevant it is after all these centuries!

Leave a Reply

