The Big Mess

Whether it is laying carpet, preparing for a garage sale, painting a room, or scrapbooking, sometimes it just has to get worse before it can get better.  Last summer I had determined to finally get at the family history scrapbook.  Well, I unearthed things, sorted things, and before I knew it, school was starting and I had to put things away and clean up the office.

This past two months I have not had any students to tutor, so I pulled out the “stuff” and started to sorting and organizing again.  At first, my office contained the clutter, but now, the clutter has migrated into other rooms of the house.  A pile here, a pile there, and now I feel as if I am living in a gigantic assortment of newspapers, yearbooks, old photo albums, and greeting cards.

Then last night in the midst of my mess, I actually put some pages together.  While I was working from one folding table to the next, I also watched a television production on the Inspiration network called “Monumental.”  I had seen the previews and knew that it was aptly named.  The theme of the production, featuring Kirk Cameron, is a focus on the monumental trials of the pilgrims and separatists and why and how they left England.  It indeed was monumental.  It certainly is worth the time to watch.

This Independence day I will be looking back with a thankful heart to those staunch people of faith who settled here for all the right reasons.  Those men and women were not just brave, they were also faithful. They followed God’s Word.  They were honorable men who signed the Mayflower Compact; they kept their word.  What they had, in fact, was a mess.  Their food supply was terribly limited.  Almost half of them died the first winter.  Out of that messy situation God allowed them to forge a nation where God was recognized not by church membership rolls, but by individual relationships.

They also saw as the colonies grew that all school children would have a Bible to read.  The main goal for the children of the colonies to read was so that they could read the Bible.

Things sometimes get messy or seem disorganized.  God, however, knows every detail.  He is working things together for our good.  Whether it is 1609 or 2012 “. . . we know that all things work together for good to them who love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.”  The question is:  Do you love God; are you called according to His purpose?  It is to that group of God fearing people that God is making something monumental out of what others may see as chaos.

2 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Oh, I do hope that God is transforming my mess into a message of His love and grace! Thank you for this wonderful lesson today. Enjoy your trip down Memory Lane as you put those scrapbooks together; those are loving memories that your children and grandchildren will appreciate down the road—unless the Rapture occurs first! 🙂

    • Glenda, you used alliteration that I was trying to develop but didn’t think on it long enough! Mess, message. Now, why didn’t I think of that? I did my college graduation page on the computer tonight and it turned out rather nicely. I can e mail as an attachment if you would like to see it. You can just let me know on fb.

Leave a Reply

