The Secret Shopper

I work for a company that employs people like me to go “undercover” and then report on quality of merchandise and service.  It is mostly enjoyable, but we do have to pay close attention to details and remember them without being noticed or obvious.  Sometimes I go to retail stores and evaluate how merchandise is displayed and how friendly and knowledgeable the sales associates are.  Sometimes it is restaurant service.

I’ve been doing this now for about three years, so it is becoming very easy to create a scenario and conduct my shop.  However, sometimes I have to study beforehand.  One of my assignments was phone service.  I really don’t know much about phone service so that was a challenge.  It certainly was not difficult for me to act dumb!

Today my visit was to a McDonalds.  Timing is critical so I have to carry a large-faced watch in my hand, but not act suspicious.  I also can’t leave the counter if I have to wait for my food.  The food service was behind on fries so I chose to visit with the person also in line waiting.  We entertained ourselves well and the service person thought we knew each other!  To me, it was a challenge. I knew that somewhere a camera was watching me.

All of that said, on my way home thought gave way to being under the eye of our ever watching Lord.  He is watching, but often Christians disregard that fact unless they need something.  What a shame.  Countless rewards and blessings are lost in careless living.  The Bible says “. . . and as it is appointed unto man once to die, but after that, the judgment.”  (Hebrews 9:27)  If I do not conduct my shop properly, I don’t get paid.  It is the same when we stand before the Judgment Seat of Christ.

When we live in the Shepherd’s presence, we are conscious of our conduct.  We should have an awareness of God’s presence in all of our living.  Paul admonished the Ephesian believers (and us) “See then that ye walk circumspectly, not as fools, but as wise; redeeming the time because the days are evil.”

My pastor courageously addressed the topic in Ephesians 5 this morning:  walking circumspectly.  I want to add here:  Yes, you do have a responsibility to others.  You (and I) are not the center of the universe and we cannot live above the Word of God.  Whether we want it or like it, others are watching our lives.  Let my life count for eternity in Heaven rather than drive people away from Eternal Bliss because they see the hypocrisy in your life style.   Sometimes the sins of others crush in on us and if our attitude at the time is wrong, we may not reflect the life we should:  Jesus is able to overcome any challenge sin and the devil may cast your and my way.

4 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Thank you for this reminder today. Yes, He is always watching us, which is a good thing, because He sees when we’re about to get into trouble, and He’ll often stop us in some way that we might not even realize was Him at work for us. Also, if we remember that He is always there, that awareness should keep us from bringing the wrong books or magazines into our homes. “Oh, be careful, little eyes, what you see,” comes back to my mind. These children’s songs are good for adults, also!

  2. At the risk of offending some of my readers: God is aware and taking count of all those social drinks and movies that do not bring honor to His name. I am aware that I am on camera at many of those shops and if I state something a clerk or service person protests, the camera footage can be obtained as to who is right. God’s all seeing eyes are watching us in much the same way. My salvation is free. My rewards are earned. There is not enough preaching on these areas on the radio, tv, or in pulpits. Casual Christianity will not keep America from judgment and I will go down too, even though I have done my best to live righteously. Living for Jesus is far more than casual. There, got that off my chest!

  3. Glenda

    There are always people watching Christians to see how we react when certain events take place in our lives. If we are not living close to the Master, then we are most likely going to have a bad response, and those who are watching will catch it and may decide that being a Christian is nothing special. I try to be careful not to do anything that might cause someone to give our Lord a bad name, and when I realize that I have slipped, I just have to ask for forgiveness and another chance to prove that He is all He says He is, and more!

  4. I guess my point is that while I am watching someonen’s job performance and they are unaware, that camera in the store is also watching me. (the secret shopper aspect) Even in our “secret places” when we are alone, our character matters. It is what we do when we think no one is looking that reveals our character. And I wish someone would join us in the conversation with perhaps another view.

Leave a Reply

