Concern

The teacher says, “I’m concerned about Johnny’s arithmetic understanding.”

The doctor says, “I’m concerned about your blood pressure.”

The pastor says, “I’m concerned about Susie’s attitude.”

The mechanic says, “I’m concerned about how your transmission is slipping.”

You look at your account balance and think, “I’m getting concerned.”

Did you know that what concerns you, concerns God?  His Word from Psalm 37 says, “Fret not. . ”

When a thirsty, tired, discouraged Hagar sat beside a spring wondering what to do next, God spoke to her and she exclaimed, “Thou God, seest me.”  The translators punctuated that simply.  It could have been a question, or it could have been an exclamation, but it is punctuated with a colon.  The colon usually indicates a similar comparison.  So it is here.  God used an angel to represent himself to her.  To make this comparison she is saying, “God, you are seeing me and I am seeing you.”

That was quite a revelation to the slave girl who is carrying the child of her master, Abraham.  It seemed as if no one cared about her.  She was running away from the sharp tongue of her boss lady, Sari.  You can read this account in Genesis 16.

God doesn’t miss anything.  God doesn’t miss what concerns us either.  It may be as simple as missing keys, or as complex as an organ transplant.  God sees.  God cares.

Our concerns are His concerns and we have the promise of Psalm 138:8 “The Lord will perfect that which concerneth me. . .”  Taken in context, verse 6 states, “though the Lord be high, yet hath he respect unto the lowly. . .” and verse 7 speaks to the fact that God sees and cares for us in the midst of trouble.  The Psalmist, David, ends with verse 8.  “The Lord will perfect that which concerneth me.” Our concerns are His concerns.

 

3 Comments

  1. Glenda

    His Word also tells us that even the very hairs of our heads are numbered. Now, that always presents a somewhat comical picture in my pea brain, with angels holding calculators, subtracting as one or two fall out, then adding when new growth happens! Well, I’m a little silly, anyway, but I have seriously experienced His care and concern many times, and I KNOW He’s still the same loving Father that He was when Hagar needed comfort. Thank you for this timely reminder. 🙂

    • Ever since Sunday when I talked with my son and have been aware of the court date approaching this Friday, God has been reminding me how He is concerned about my concerns. He loves Torrie more than I ever could and she is in His care. I just hate the worrisome time that drags by while we wait for men to make decisions. Thanks for the reminder about the hairs. The sparrows too. I recall Bro. Nichols using a fallen sparrow in a sermon. The lilies of the field. I just had to share my insights today on Psalm 138 and how they correlated to Gen. 16–at least in my heart.

  2. Excellent post, Karyl. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

