Concern: flipped

If you are reading this for the first time, the title may puzzle you.  The original post, “Concern” is about the fact that what concerns us, concerns God.  He watches every detail and is aware of our sitting down and stand up (Psalm 139)

This post is flipping the subject:  how interested are we about the things that concern God.  Since concern carries a connotation of worry, please do not misunderstand.  Let’s say, interested.  Do you know what interests God?

Actually, I am not going to answer the question for you.  Think about it.  Answer it for me.  If I can just get you to focus on God, I will have accomplished my intention.

Of course, I would enjoy your comments.  Comment here:  the best way.  Then if you want to get in on the discussion, check the little box below the comment box and follow the thread.

I have a couple of pressing projects due this weekend, so I may not make a post again until they are done.  But I will follow your comments.  (My focus this afternoon (July 12) has been on John 15 so that might give you some clues.)’

July 13 – What did God want from Adam and Eve most?

6 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Well, off the top of my head, I would say that God’s main concern is the salvation of souls. His Word tells us that He was not willing that any should perish, and He sent His only Son, Jesus, to suffer a cruel death on a cold, unfeeling cross, to satisfy that cost for us. He is also concerned that we should live in victory, and He brought Jesus back to life to give us that victory! Now, there are other concerns on God’s heart, but I think those are the two main ones that we need to be aware of in our Christian walk. If we have the mind of Christ, we will see the importance of leading others to Him.

    • I believe the teachings of God’s Word actually state: “To know Christ, and to make Him known” are at the heart of the catechisms. It really needs to be in that order.

  2. Glenda

    From Adam and Eve, I think he wanted fellowship. Obedience is also there, right up at the top, but I believe that walking and talking with them was as important as obedience. Of course, I might be WAY off base… wouldn’t be the first time! 🙂

  3. John 15 is the great “Abide in Me” chapter, so I would guess that what you’re thinking is that God is interested in our obedience, fruit-bearing, and faithful trust in Him.

  4. Actually, I think that what we should be concerned about, in my opinion, is relationship. Harmony is important on earth and even more so with God. One of the core elements in Milton’s “Paradise Lost” is that man is the crowning creation of God. Satan wants more to destroy us in order to “get back” at God. That harmony with God, by abiding in Him, is what will bring forth fruit both in fruits of the Spirit and in souls. It is almost cliche to say, “I love God” and it really isn’t so. Walking in harmony with God is a life-long dream, achievement. Few people have really achieved. But, I am striving for that mastery of walking in harmony with God and in doing so, I must adhere to the Word of God. And He didn’t leave us alone. The Holy Spirit is always ready to impress upon us where we should be, when we should be there, and whether we should say something or be quiet. “Nothing Between” really is the answer, I guess, that I am looking for. I distrinctly remember a time in 1992 when I knew that it was far more important to “be” than to “do.” I was tired of the “wear this, don’t wear that, listen to this, not that, use this version, not that” –I was done. Ready to walk out on it all. God tenderly swept through my heart with such love and compassion that I changed. All I’ve wanted since is just to walk with Him in harmony. I’ve been at it for 20 years and am not “there” all the time, but some of the time! I hope I don’t sound “holiness” in this. That’s why I like to blog. It’s a more personal thing; a place to unload.

  5. Loud and clear. A lot of us who grew up during a time when fundamentalism was creating its own identity have had an “aha” moment about certain aspects. Right with you.

Leave a Reply

