Promises, Promises

Parents need to be cautious when making any promise.  Once the promise is made, a parent must keep it.  Keeping promises instills trust.

This morning the news is reporting a mass shooting of movie goers.  It is a grim reminder of how little we know of “what a day may bring forth.”  (Proverbs 27:1)  I cannot even begin to imagine the grief and pain for those families who lost loved ones in that senseless shooting.  What causes the degradation of a person’s soul to plan such a terrible thing in the first place?

A few years ago, after the Columbine shootings, I came across a book entitled: Extreme Evil:  Kids Killing Kids by Bob Larson. I set it aside for myself. (It was part of my job at the bookstore to do markdowns.)  It was a gruesome read; however, enlightening.  I’ve never really forgotten the contents.  In fact, it was the very first thing that came to mind when I first heard the news story. In this case, it was an adult, not a teenager, that shot up a movie theater audience in cold, calculated method. However, the research from the book applied.

Now, the most shocking news I heard is this:  President Obama, rightfully so, extended sympathy and compassion to the hurting people of Aurora, Colorado.  That was not shocking.  The promises he extend were shocking.  He promised government support.  Wait, Mr. President!  Law enforcement is doing its job.  What can the federal government do more?  Taxpayers don’t pay for funerals or counseling.  This is where people reach out to people. This is a time for community outreach.  Neighbors, churches, local support groups will help.  Not the mayor, not the Governor.  Let local people work.  That should be the challenge.

Once again a political candidate has made a promise he has no business making.  I am not accusing here but I am thinking—thinking that such a promise to an emotional crowd could be as cold and calculating as the shooter’s evil act.

As a reminder to my readers:  God keeps His promises.  The Bible is full of promises and they are there for the finding and claiming.  God instilled my trust a long time ago and He has never failed me.  Likewise, we should endeavor to be people of our promises.

I don’t work for Amazon, but I did find it listed there.  (I paid $2 for mine and received am employee discount on top of that so I did get an extraordinary buy!)

1 Comment

  1. Glenda

    Thank you for this post today, Karyl. This president has a history of broken promises, and this will be one more. You are correct that the community should rally to help these people, and they surely will do just that. The Federal government (which is funded by you and me) has no business in this thing. I have seen comments that indicate that this theater was a gun-free place, which means simply that law-abiding citizens would not have taken firearms into it. Gun control does not stop the criminal, but it takes away the self-defense of the honest people. Well, that’s an argument for another time, so I’ll hush about that. We really need to be deep in prayer for our nation. There are altogether too many of these incidents in recent years.

Leave a Reply

