“If it be possible. . .”

I had a pin cushion day today.  It seemed as if everyone and everything “needled” me.  The heat.  Blame it on the heat.  People are just more irritable when it is hot.

That was not the answer.

Blame it on . . . on what?  Exasperation set in and would not leave me alone.

Then someone else later asked something for which I had a Biblical answer.

That set me to thinking that Romans 12 had a great deal of practical living advice.  Maybe that person asked me the particular question to get me to read Romans 12.  So, I did.  Here it is.  Between verses 9 and 18 are at least 21 commands for practical, everyday approaches to life situations.  I made a mental checklist—and a spiritual checklist as well.

Starting in verse 9 the principles are all intertwined.  The principles are actually rather easy on most days.  The fact is, however, that some days are just more challenging than others.

By the time I reached verse 18 my eyes were filling with tears because I felt as if I had failed a big-big-big test.  Confrontations are not my strong point. I wondered, until then, if my reaction had been the correct thing to do.

“If it be possible. . .”  There is hope.  It isn’t always possible.  A store manager asked me to do something that is against company policy.  I refused but at the same time, saw that he thought that he had an upper hand with me.  What did I want at that point?  Frankly, I wanted revenge. (I am not exactly opaque here, am I?)

“If it be possible . . .” It was not possible.  I could not live peaceably under his demands.

I am reminded of Dr. Bob Jones who often told the students at college, “Do right; do right if the stars fall.”  I really believe that.

God’s Word arrangement is no accident.  The words are not haphazardly put together.  “If it be possible. . .” After all, the most important person for me to live peaceably with is—myself.  Peace with God; peace of God is what matters. The store manager, he will have to find a way to get someone else to do wrong.  It is always right to do right.  It is wrong to do wrong.  It is never right to wrong. Something like that—correct me if I have that—well, incorrect!

 

I know you are curious:  Now, what did he ask?  Was it immoral?  Well, he wanted me to lie on the report.  He also wanted me to do the job in a way that would let him be lazy.  I refused to enable his laziness and wow, he was unhappy!  So, I won’t get paid, regardless of the time I’d already spent.  That’s okay.  God’s payday is coming.

3 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Of course, you are correct in standing up for what’s right. I am reminded of the time, in Chattanooga, when we had found a really good mechanic. He did excellent work, and was reasonable in his pricing. The one thing that bothered us was that, if we paid cash rather than using a check, he would charge us no sales tax. We quickly reasoned that he was cheating the State, and always paid by check, just so he would not be able to “hide” that income. We continued to use him as long as he was available, and he never argued with me. I suspect that he had plenty of other customers who were more than happy to help him cheat, so he still had the customer base he needed to keep his income at a good level. God will always provide, as you are well aware, and you will be awarded in unexpected ways for being honest and forthright in your dealings. Even this store manager, once he has had time to consider the situation, may reconsider and realize that you were right to do right! Rest comfortably tonight, knowing that your conscience is clear!

  2. The thing is, I don’t like confrontation. I am a negotiator. I made some suggestions as to how to solve his problems. He is just lazy and rebellious. Yet, it bothered me not to be able to work out a compromise that would benefit both of us, and most assuredly, the company sales margin.
    It is interesting to me how God placed the words in such as way as to communicate great truths in a simple phrase. The phrase, “and it came to pass” reminds me that tough times don’t last; it will pass. It is my guess that the Geneva Bible will have that verse the same way. Now I am thinking. . .

  3. Glenda

    I do understand, because I am also a negotiator of sorts. I can usually point out the benefits of doing the right thing and have some success, but there are those who insist on doing their own idea of what’s right, which is rarely right. I’m sure your thoughts will generate another good blog entry!

Leave a Reply

