Rick Husband, Russell O’Quinn and Me

That’s keeping distinguished company!  You’ll see why in about 400 words.

Today I heard the testimonial of Russell O’Quinn and posted it on facebook because it is not only fascinating, but also educational.  The television broadcast, “Love Worth Finding” showed it and I heard only about twenty minutes of it.  The space program, since its early beginnings under the Kennedy administration, has held an awe for me as I have followed it.

Although it was little recognized, the anniversary of Armstrong’s walk on the moon’s surface recently passed, I did remember it.  July 20, a mere 43 years ago.  It corresponds closely to my wedding anniversary with the exception of July, not June.

About two or three years ago I was in search of a biography in the public library and my eyes landed on High Calling.   The subtitle is very long:  the Courageous Life and Faith of Space Shuttle Columbia’s commander Rick Husband.  

The Columbia crashed upon re-entry after a shuttle mission in 2003.  As you may recall, the crash was blamed on loose foam tiles that came loose and caused the system to shut down.  In the book his wife recalls waiting in Florida at the Kennedy Space Center and the anguish involved in hearing the news.  The book is a very good “read” and I’d encourage you to find it for yourselves.  I purchased a copy for my grandboys next door and Karsten told me that he had been reading in it this summer.  (He volunteered.  That was a big encouragement.)

Russell O’Quinn and Rick Husband have something in common.  They both accomplished passing test pilot missions.  Both men are unashamed of their faith in Christ.  (Husband’s journal excerpts in the book are like reading a devotional guide.) Both men are incredibly inspiring.

Someday, I will take my flight.  “For the Lord himself shall descend from Heaven, with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first:  then they which are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air: and so shall we ever be with the Lord.”

If you, like me, have personally acknowledged your sin, and received Christ as your Savior and payment for that sin, I’ll see you in the air.  Someone coined the phrase, “here, there, or in the air” and I like it.  I’ll meet Rick Husband and Russell O’Quinn and we’ll fly away! I wonder if these men would agree, it is more exciting than visiting the International Space Station or flying Top Gun missions.  Oh, to see our Blessed Savior.  What a day that will be.   What a day!

1 Comment

  1. Glenda

    Amen!!!

Leave a Reply

