More on Substitutes

School started last week for one of my clients.  Everything should be humming along now, right?  Well, almost.  He starts the year with a substitute!  His English teacher is on maternity leave.

There are two ways of looking at the situation:  1) the substitute may be easier than the regular teacher and the students will like that or 2) the substitute may not care because she does not have long-range plans.  Somehow, I think this sub is going to do a good job.  Time will tell.  She is plunging right in with literature that is challenging.

It reminded me of 1968 when a substitute had to start my school year for me.  I was recovering from a surgery that was of utmost importance in early August.  For the first three weeks, a substitute started my year.  She was a motherly sort of person, not an educator at heart, and when I arrived on the scene, we had a bit of catching up to do and I distinctly remember seeing little faces getting very serious. Miss Wegner made them print inside the lines!

When it comes to the Christian walk, we often count on a substitute.  Have you ever heard a preacher or teacher advise that when Satan knocks on the door, send Jesus to answer it?  It came to me that I count on Jesus to take my place many times and of all things, I take it for granted!    When I call out, “Jesus this is too difficult for me, can you do it?” it is then that I am sending for the substitute.  Best of all, I never have to “clean up” after Him.  His ways are perfect.

Now, one other thing:  I ran out of allspice and found that a dinky little can costs 4.39!  So, I found a substitute:  To equal 1 tsp of allspice, use 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, and 1/8 tsp of cloves.  Yes, I was making my Oatmeal Fiber Bars.  Now you know.

3 Comments

  1. Glenda

    I’m SOOO thankful that Jesus came to be my substitute! He is so much wiser than anyone else the world has to offer, and His compassion and love cannot be matched!

    Oh, I never buy allspice, anyway…the cinnamon/nutmeg/clove genre are all I’ve ever needed, and it’s ridiculous what you have to pay for a simple little can of allspice! Thanks for the measurements, anyway!

    • I wondered about it, but hey, it does not alter the taste of the product. I think the clove is rather strong, much stronger than allspice. Glenda, comment above, says she never buys allspice. I like to make my own combination for pumpkin pie. I eventually will cough up the 4.39 but not this month! Good observation, Jessica!

  2. 1/4 t. + 1/8 t. = 1 t. That’s the kind of math I like–flexible! :o)

Leave a Reply

