The Medal Count

 

The Olympic competitions were not new to the Apostle Paul.  He was also very educated and often used examples in his teaching that make the listener (or in our case, the reader) relate experiences to a spiritual application.  In I Corinthians 9:27 Paul is speaking in athletic terms.  He speaks of a competition ready body:  “But I keep under my body, and bring it into subjection:  lest that by any means when I have preached to others, I myself be a castaway.”

There is no doubt that the Olympians we have watched (at least I have watched) in the past two weeks have had conditioned bodies.  It also struck me that the retired and older Olympians who were there as spectators were still in good form.  They had learned a discipline in the early years of conditioning that has lasted them into their middle years.

As I watched the Woman’s Basketball medal game, I thought of Pat Summit.  She contributed a great deal to one of those players on the court:  Tomika Catchings.  Although Ms. Summit is now retired, she is still in good physical form.  She played in a medal game herself, then went on to coach for UT.  No one would call Coach Summit a castaway!

Back to my string of thinking in past posts now:  Olympian Believers must not allow themselves to get sloppy and undisciplined.  In the end, after years of teaching, singing, ushering, deacon-ing, some folks slack off.  Don’t let it happen.  Caleb-like Christians do not become castaways.

Now, off subject for a moment.  USA at last time I looked this afternoon was at 104 medals.  China was at 87.  North Korea was at 6, Cuba was at 14, Iran was at 12.  All of the medals for Iran, Cuba, and N. Korea were in weightlifting, shooting, and judo or taekwondo.  One medal for Cuba was in track and field and it was in discus throw.  Need I say more?  Please, readers, do not allow the USA to become a castaway by letting our system slip out of “life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness.”  The American Dream must be kept alive and well conditioned. I have to say, Mr. Ryan, the selected running mate of Mitt Romney said it well yesterday, “We all have equal opportunity; we do not have equal outcomes.”   Someday you will see a post from me called, “No Brown Couches.”

6 Comments

  1. I’ve always loved Paul’s references to athletic conditioning and striving for the perfect race. Talk about great object lessons! This is good stuff, Karyl. You’re on a roll 🙂

  2. Thanks, granonine!

  3. Glenda

    Wonderful lesson, Karyl! There was mention of this “staying fit” this morning in our Sunday School lesson, and it’s always dangerous to start thinking that we have nothing to offer after we have passed a certain point in life. Even though the style of our “ministry” might change, we are still influencing others every day, and we MUST keep our testimony true! Thanks for pointing this out once again today….maybe God is speaking to me??

  4. Maybe. Now Glenda, I thought for sure you would say something about Pat Summit! I need to go on Amazon and see if I can find one. Odd, they don’t sell them here in Hoosier Land! I have a back log of books coming out of my Kindle! Been busy. One thing we both know, we need to stay close to the Word of God lest what we knew slip. Hebrews 2:1 If there is one solid thing I never want to forget is what I know of the Bible. Alz. stay away from that! My mom never seemed to forget words to hymns and spiritual songs. That was a blessing.

  5. Glenda

    Oh, I could say a LOT about Pat Summitt! There was another former Lady Vol, Candace Parker, on that gold medal team as well. There was a time when Pat was criticized for being “hard” on her players, but I don’t think you can argue with the results she had–every player graduated from the university, and they all look up to her because of the positive influence she had on their lives. I don’t think we’re through hearing about her, either… 🙂

  6. Thank you, Glenda. I wanted to hear that. My heart must still be in TN. I’ll be a UT fan for a long long long long time. Indiana U has little to offer in comparrison. Even in men’s basketball. Well, you know, Bobby Knight–he’s controversial and I could not bear his temper! It’s one thing to be hard on players, but his foul mouth–nope. (the ESPN announcers are gabbing so much, it tires me out! But, back to the game.)

Leave a Reply

