Two things today. . .

1)  This past Sunday it rained all day.  Since I am restricted to not driving in the rain, I occupied myself with my book (you’ll soon be getting a book review on the entire series), stitching, and in the afternoon watched the webcast of Charlotte714.  Several cities across America have joined hands with OneCry Ministries and Charlotte, NC happens to be one of them.  As I listened to Byron Paulus of Life Action Ministries, I was impressed with Joel 2:17.  It says:  “Let the priests and the ministers of the Lord, weep between the porch and the altar, and let them say, Spare thy people, O Lord, and give not thine heritage to reproach that the heathen should rule over them:  wherefore should they say among the people, Where is their God?

Paulus proclaimed:  “It is not what happens in the White House, it is what happens at the church house.”

Before I put up the webcast, I’d written the post about growth from II Peter 3.  It is full of compassionate warning about those who will act religious are are false.  The two truths fit hand-in-glove.

 

2)   Some weeks ago I listened to a book by William J. Bennett.  He is a prolific writer and deep thinker. He is not someone to casually approach.  I wrote down a quote Bennett used from a book by C.S. Lewis, also a great thinker.  Lewis said:  “Progress means getting nearer to the place you want to be and if you have taken a wrong turn then turning gets you closer to where you want to be.  In that case, the man who turns soonest is the most progressive.”

I took great umbrage at the mockery that our President used toward those of us who want to hold dearly to founding principles.  In my opinion, those founding truth are timeless.  Lewis and Bennett have it correctly stated.  Our President does not.

1 Comment

  1. Glenda

    No argument here! I pray that our nation has learned important lessons during the past nearly four years, and that those lessons will lead them in the right choice in November. My fear is that those who do not approve of either of the major candidates will vote for some obscure person who has no chance of winning, thus “throwing away” their vote. I’m praying for great wisdom as all votes are cast, remembering that God will be in control, as He always is.

Leave a Reply

