Blurry

Tomorrow I have the opportunity to get a treatment for my wet macular degeneration that abates the bleeding in my eyes and allows me to see more clearly.It is a milestone in medical treatment and my doctor is one of the developers of this treatment.  While I sure do not look forward to getting injections directly in the eyeball, it is an honor to have this particular doctor, and furthermore, it helps!

This afternoon I was thinking about a Bible verse.  It is located in I Corinthians 13:12 “. . . For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face.  Now, I know in part, then I shall know fully. . . “(ESV) Tonight, I see clearly only with the aid of magnification device.  Tomorrow night, I’ll have a clearer vision, and in about three days, scenes before me will be far more clear.

Isn’t life like that?  We wish we could reach out and clear away the foggy mirror in life.  Here, in our temporary dwelling place, it will never be clear.  Oh, some things will seem clear.  Seem.  Not really.  Even the most learned scholar of the Bible does not have it all clearly.  There are things on this side of Heaven we will never fully understand.

Someday I will have perfect vision.  Wow, I don’t think I have ever had perfect eyesight.  What’s more important is my internal sight–sincere, internal vision.

The only way we can in any way achieve godly, biblical insight is from God’s Word and at that, only as our feeble flesh can see.

Our finite beings cannot begin to take it in, unless—we see Jesus.  Hebrews 2:9 expresses it well:  “But we see Jesus. . .”  He clears our blurry vision, takes us by the hand, and leads us through the struggles and pain of this life in His all-seeing way.

That’s why I call this place on the internet, The Shepherd’s Presence.

3 Comments

  1. Glenda

    You are SO right! One day, all will be clear, and we’ll understand why we had to go through certain events in our lives. Until then, though, I’m thankful for a God Who loved me enough to provide a way to have some faith in what’s to come. Without that faith, we would be most miserable, and suicides would be even more frequent! Thank you for this reminder this evening, and I’ll be praying for you as you have that injection!

  2. Fuzzy, I just wanted to check my messages, and am heading for the recliner and an audio book. May I add, Miss Glenda, that “without faith it is impossible to please God.” Heb 11: verse 6, I think. The bleeding has stopped in my right eye, but as a precaution, I still had an injection in each eye this morning. Dr. Maturi was very encouraged.

  3. Glenda

    Great news!

Leave a Reply

