Bible or Franklin?

Sometimes Ben Franklin is mistakenly quoted as Bible.  For instance, some people think that the quote:  “Cleanliness is next to godliness” is from the Bible.  Not so.  It is probably from an edition of Poor Richard’s Almanac.  Another expression crossed my reading path this morning that is akin:  “You are the only Bible some people will read.”

Well, now, that isn’t exactly Bible.  The closest I came to that in the Bible is II Corinthians 3:2-4 which, I quote:

“Ye are our epistle written in our hearts, known and read by all men;

3 for ye are manifestly declared to be the epistle of Christ ministered by us, written not with ink but with the Spirit of the living God, not on tablets of stone but in fleshy tablets of the heart.

4 And such is the trust we have through Christ to Godward.”  (KJV21)

I would not want to be responsible for turning someone away from Christ because of inconsistent living, but please, do not put blame on me.  After all, I am just finite flesh and I am going to make mistakes.  No one is going to be judged by what they saw, or did not see me do.  Every person will someday give an account.  The unsaved will appear before the Great White Throne judgment; the saved will appear before the Judgment Seat of Christ.

When judgment is passed, it will be according to the Word of God.  It is my goal on a daily basis to live according to the precepts of God’s Word, not what I think others will think.  My spirit is always willing to obey God, but temptations do catch me.

How glad I am that “For the Word of God is living and powerful and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.”  Hebrews 4:12 (KJV21)

Follow me, I might lead you stray.  Follow the Word of God, for it is perfect. It will lead you into the Shepherd’s Presence. His Word is perfect.  It will guide you. It will not lead you astray.

People following is not a good practice.

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Glenda

    This is SO vital to remember!! Oh, another one that I have heard quoted “from the Bible” is “A penny saved is a penny earned.” Now, that just shows how little many of us know the Bible! I am so far short of what I should be, but I’m trying always to be what God expects me to be. Those who use the hypocrisy excuse for not attending church are themselves being hypocritical, because they know they do not measure up to Christ’s standards. The fact is that without God’s infinite mercy and grace, NONE of us would have any hope. Thank you for this reminder today! 🙂

  2. And “A stich in time saves nine.” One of my few genuine pet peeves is not giving credit to quotes; even to the point of using a quote as if the writer deemed it original. Maybe it is forgetfulness but nonetheless, it is careless.

Leave a Reply

