“Let’s Roll” — Todd Beamer

I wrote this shortly after I read the book, and have been holding it in my document file and really didn’t know why.  Maybe for this weblog.

Let’s Roll:  Ordinary People, Extraordinary Courage

by Lisa Beamer with Ken Abrahams

Tyndale Publishers, 2002, 2006 (with epilogue)

          Lisa Beamer portrays herself and her husband as ordinary people.  I beg to disagree.  Both Todd and Lisa grew up in strong Christian families that taught their children virtue, character, and a dependence on God. Both Todd and Lisa attended Wheaton College and graduated with liberal arts degrees.  That gave them something to draw on when they needed courage and strength.

While Todd Beamer is certainly the lead character in this biography, Lisa is an integral part. They shared a marriage made of such a close relationship that I am tempted to call them “soul mates” which does not happen often.  It was a delight to read of how they grew together in Christian faith.  Todd was a man of integrity yet felt it important to attend a Friday morning breakfast group of men from their church.  Both Lisa and Todd were part of a Care Circle in the church.

Lisa spends about half of the book telling about both of their childhoods, their college years, and their early marriage.  The second half of the book leads into the United Airlines flight 93 particulars and how it happened that Lisa had even a glimmer of what happened on the plane to make Todd’s last words that she knew of, “Let’s roll.”  Todd Beamer acted with other business people on the flight to attempt to take over the hijackers because one of the men on the plane felt confident that he could land the plane safely if he could just get to the controls.  The passengers did know from communication with the towers in Chicago that their plane was headed back to the East Coast and probably another National Building or Icon.

Lisa ministers to hearts as she shares her emotions and how she counseled with others in her church to gain stability after Todd’s horrific death.  She was expecting her third child when Todd died.  Although Lisa never claims it for herself, I feel that she displayed above-average courage too.

I highly recommend this book for both men and women readers.  It will cause you to love your country and at the same time, respect highly those who appear to be ordinary Christians.  This book should be available in every library public or church.

9 Comments

  1. Glenda

    I must see if I can still find this book. I have heard Lisa on many talk shows and marveled at her courage and steadfast faith, as much as at Todd’s own courage that day. I still re-visit my thoughts on that horrible day, as I’m sure many people do, and we need to have the same faith and courage to combat the attacks our nation still faces. Although they are not so overt, they are still very real, and we are being lulled into a false sense of security. Thank you for reminding me of this book, Karyl. I had forgotten about it!

  2. You might try Amazon.com as you probably cannot buy it new anymore, but used. Just an idea.

  3. Glenda

    I thought about that, also thought it might still be in the library. Thanks….

  4. V.E.G.

    There is another one like Todd Beamer: Irish-American Bruce Wilson Maloy. He gave his life saving others. His parents are gone now, but Bruce will be remembered by his siblings, Mickey and Cheryl.

  5. V.E.G.

    Imagine a logo of Bruce Wilson Maloy: B, W, M in a Shamrock.

    • So, do you have a written story on Maloy? I often read book reviews, and depend on reviews before I book off of Amazon for my Kindle. If you have a story on Maloy I’d love to read it! Please share!

  6. Reblogged this on The Shepherd's Presence and commented:

    This story has the same impact on me today as it did when I first read it and later wrote this review. Today or tomorrow is a good time to refresh our minds, yea, our souls, of the price these few brave men paid to put this plane down before it destroyed even more lives than theirs. It is a “repeat” but I feel, a necessary repeat.

  7. V.E.G.

    Okay. Here is the story on Bruce Wilson Maloy in my own words. He was born on Texas Independence Day, March 2, 1958 in El Paso, Texas to Royce Wilson and Hazel (McCullough) Maloy. He was a welder and comedian and his ancestry was of British, Irish, German, Swiss, Swedish, Finnish, and possibly a touch of Native American origin. He was married but divorced and he had a son Samuel Martin Maloy. Eight days after his 51st birthday, he did ram the truck and he was shot to death and he died a hero. He had one brother, Mickey Maloy and a half-sister, Cheryl Ashley. They put his name in the memorial highway in Alabama. He was the direct descendant of the Confederate Veterans of the Civil War. It should be remembered throughout the South.

    • Thank you for that interesting information. When I dug this post up for the second time, and read your comment it crossed my mind that I still didn’t have the story. Now, I do.

Leave a Reply

