Forty Days of Prayer, II

I have to smile when I decide to mark this chronicle through my 40 days of prayer and fasting.  It will be a good renewal of my knowledge of Roman Numerals.

Now, to the serious.  There is no doubt about it:  prayer is work.  It is holy work.  Nonetheless, it is work.  The work of prayer is not for the faint of heart.

It is my goal in this coming chronicle to encourage myself as much as you, the reader.  So, let’s be practical.  I am a simple person and think simply and like to follow a simple route.  So, let’s forget the fancy. However, rest assured; I will do my best to follow the precepts of God’s Word.

1.       Plan your work; work your plan.  I don’t know who came up with that ditty; I I like it.

In my journal today, I decided to plan how I was going to be consistent through the next forty days.   My challenge to you is to do the same thing.  Right now, you do not need to set a concrete goal; you just put one step in front of the other and plan how you are going to be consistent and faithful to the task ahead.

In my plan, I decided on a “trigger” that would prompt me to “pray without ceasing” (I Thessalonians 5:17).  My house has pictures of children in nearly every room.  I decided to make that a trigger.  When I lean back in my chair and see a grandchild’s face, I will pray for the future of America.

Tomorrow, I will give another encouragement.  If you have ideas to develop, please do not be silent.

1 Comment

  1. Glenda

    Great plan! Our nation needs to be much in prayer that God will be honored by the elections that are coming up! I started praying several days ago, and will continue!

Leave a Reply

