Forty Days of Prayer, III

Today was a challenging day just because of the events that unfolded.  Of course, I am reminded, therefore, that God’s Word does say, “Boast not thyself of tomorrow, for thou knowest not what a day may bring forth.”  (Proverbs 27:1)   My plans kept changing as the day progressed!  You have those days too.  By the end of the day you are on plan—oh, S, or T, or Z!

Distractions can make a mess of our minds.  The distracted mind is not given to prayer.  My spirit was willing, but my mind was going on high RPMs.  Then God moved in.  My 2:30 student did not come for study.  Peace settled in.  I made a couple of phone calls, then just let the peace seep into my soul.  Prayer came easily.

I settled into making a prayer list today then.  I do not want to pray in a helter-skelter way.  I want the Lord to direct me into purposeful prayer.  I now had added direction.

After that kind of calm settled in, I also asked the Lord to give me direction in my asking and He did.  Anger seems to surround this political scene.  There is far too much anger.  Prognosticators think that one candidate is too kind.  Really?  Thinking of that focused a light on my own attitude.  Am I kind?  Am I gentle?  Am I a light of the world?  Do I speak the truth in love?

Again, I urge those of you praying these 40 days, look inside.  The changes that we seek may be the very changes we need to make within ourselves.

Post Script chuckle:  I usually check documents on grammar check.  This one rated third grade level.  I guess no one should have difficulty understanding it!

1 Comment

  1. Glenda

    🙂

Leave a Reply

