Forty Days of Prayer IV

My personal chronicle:

Burden.  That word gives way to imagination.  If you have read Pilgrim’s Progress you immediately see the weighty bundle on Pilgrim’s back as he trudged toward the Celestial City.  I see it pictorially in my mind as it rolls away at the Cross.

A burden is something difficult to carry.  Whether the burden is physical or mental, or emotional, a burden slows us down.  For instance, when I take a cart of 40 helium-filled balloons out to the sales floor, it is not easy to navigate.  It is not heavy; it is cumbersome.  A burden.

Today when I found myself praying and asking God for direction as to what needs I should pray for in praying for my nation I was surprised at the burden God gave me.  It was a weighty spiritual burden as well as a physical burden.  God directed me to pray for the unemployed.  The more I thought about it; the more convinced I became that this is a very real problem spiritually and morally in our country.  I don’t own a business so I can’t create a job.  But wait—maybe I can create a job of sorts.  Teaching those around me responsibility became even more demanding than ever before.

If people won’t work due to laziness and government dependence, then what can I do? Well, first—pray for them.  They are not going to change unless they become a new creature in Christ.  That is going to happen when Christians once again become proactive in declaring the saving grace of Jesus.

“For by grace are ye saved through faith, and that not of yourselves; it is the gift of God, not of works, lest any man should boast.”  Ephesians 2:8-9 

I just saw this morning that over 38,000 people had signed on to just one website committing to pray these 40 days prior to our national election.  That is one website.  What if, just perchance, those 38,000 people became proactive, vibrant lights in our Nation?  For me, I am getting going.  One is a start, and I know I am not alone.

One more thing:  Pray for the candidates.  Satan’s cohorts are ready to pounce on every word they say and dig up dirt from years and years past.  This anger and bitterness and predetermined judgment is not right.  Something to pray about; another burden to bear.  America is worth it.  Jesus deserves our time.

 

If you, dear reader, have recently made a personal decision for Christ, and you want to know more about living for him, please contact me via e mail.  kentner AT embarqmail DOT com.

 

Leave a Reply

