Forty Days of Prayer VII

Chronicle:  Ocober 1, 2012

Last night in church we sang, “Master, the Tempest is Raging” and it produced a point of stirring in me.  Today I want to share the words in case you do not know them.  If you know them, go ahead and sing it as you read.

Master, the tempest is raging, the billows are tossing high!

The sky is o’er shadowed with blackness, no shelter or help is nigh.

“Carest thou not that we perish?”  How canst Thou lie asleep

When each moment so madly is threatening,

A grave in the angry deep?

(Chorus)

The winds and the waves shall obey my will,

Peace be still, Peace be still.

Whether the wrath of the storm tossed sea,

Or demons or men or whatever it be,

No water can swallow the ship where lies

The Master of ocean and earth and skies.

They all shall sweetly obey my will,

Peace be still,Peace be still.

They all shall sweetly obey My will,

Peace, peace be still. 

Master, with anguish of spirt  I bow in my grief today,

The depths of my sad heart are troubled, O waken and save I pray,

Torrents of sin and of anguish, Sweep o’er my sinking soul,

And I perish, I perish O Master, O hasten and take control.

(chorus)

Master, the terror is over, the elements sweetly rest.

Earth’s sun in the calm lake is mirrored, And heaven’s within my breast.

Linger O blessed Redeemer, Leave me alone no more.

And with joy I shall make the blest harbor, and rest on that blissful shore.

(chorus)

I do not know the story behind the song and I know not anything about the writer, Mary A. Baker.  The chorus, particularly is calming.  All this political turmoil is swirling around us, but we who know the Saviour can rest in His control.  However, we are invited to let Jesus know our heartaches and inner turmoil.  What a wonderful Friend.

Readers, I know you are from all over the U.S. and I sincerely hope that you know the difficult places in your districts where the conservative voice is being squelched.  Please pray about those areas.  Here in Indiana I’d invite you to pray about our state senate, district 30.  Pray that Scott Schneider, a pro-life conservative candidate may prevail over his opponent, Delaney, who has taken monies from Planned Parenthood.

You are welcome to share close races in your area here on the blog.  We can all share the burden that way. Over the weekend I also joined a local facebook group in my county.  The group is associated with Patriot Voices.  If you type in your state:  ——– @patriotvoices.com   and e mail them, they will have a group for you also.  There may be something physical you can do in your county.  It is called, “putting legs to your prayers.”

1 Comment

  1. Glenda

    As a child, this was my favorite song, because it went along with my favorite Scripture, Mark 4:35-41. I never liked thunderstorms, and the first time I heard that Scripture was on one of my little Sunday School cards when I was four years old. There were a few of those that I would ask mother to read over and over to me (the Good Samaritan and Daniel in the Lions’ Den were others). I have learned not to be so afraid of storms, whether physical or spiritual, but I still love this song. Such a pity that it isn’t sung much these days.

    I do agree that we need to put legs on our prayers, We are blessed to have good, solid, conservative local reps here in Sevier County, but at the district and state levels, it’s not so clear on all the candidates. Learning all we can, then voting responsibly and trusting God for the outcome!

Leave a Reply

