Forty Day of Prayer, VIII

Jeremiah 33:3 says, “Call unto Me and I will answer thee, and show thee great and mighty things which thou knowest not.”    Late this afternoon I took the time to read the entire 33rd chapter of Jeremiah and it was an encouragement.

God is very interested in Israel, (and us as grafted in) and wants to answer prayer.  The request has to be made however.

I just finished helping a ninth grade student with biology.  His grade is an all-time low.  He seems to think that his teacher doesn’t really care.  When I asked him if he had discussed a plan with his teacher for elevating his grade, he looked sheepish.  “Kinda” was the response. 

Regretfully, the teacher may have “written him off” as a poor student.  Students must be willing to be proactive too.  I’ll see.  Tomorrow I am accompanying the grandparent/guaardian to teacher conferences. 

When I ask, I’ll get an answer.  Then I can proceed to remedy the problem we face.  When we call, God does answer.  He is wanting us to ask.  God will not push Himself into our lives.  The decision is ours.

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Very true! I’m sure the teacher, if she’s worth her salt, will have some good suggestions for you to help this young man.

    I have often heard people say that the Holy Spirit is a gentleman, and will never force His will upon us. I’m convinced that God wants to hear from us frequently. Thank you for this reminder!

  2. The artist’s picture of Jesus standing at the door renders the thought that Jesus will not barge in. Someone once pointed out that the door has no outside handle. It can be opened only from the inside. Art, not Bible. But, we do have, “Behold, I stand at the door and knock. . .”

Leave a Reply

