Forty Days of Prayer XI

We have 30 days to pray regarding this election.  We have until our last breath to pray about anything!

Respect.

My topic is respect today because I saw disturbing things today.  Both were bold, disrespectful actions that tell me the Enemy, (Satan, devil, Lucifer, adversary, roaring lion, etc) is busy.

1.  Someone posted a picture of a sign at a gasoline/quick store business.  At the bottom of the advertisement, read these large print words:  “Romney-Ryan bumper stickers removed here, FREE.”  The sign aroused an action in me of complaint, simply because someone did that to me!  More frightened that angry, I sighed and ordered a replacement.  Whoever took the bumper declaration had it backfire because now I had to send in another contribution!  Well, I didn’t HAVE to, but I did.

2.  This one is downright repulsive:  Adversaries of Romney-Ryan were caught peeing on yard signs.  In the first place, urinating in public is against the law and secondly, they were trespassing, and thirdly, they lacked simple respect.  I don’t know that anyone has peed on my yard signs, but I have had a yard sign vandalized.  It was one of those plastic signs that slip on over the wire.  The plastic was turned inside out and a vulgar message written on it.

Since I have been a victim in both of these areas, I do not find this action pleasant or amusing.  I ask this:  “Whoever you are, how would you like it if someone did that to your signs?”  Even if the violation seems somehow non-violent, it is still wrong and if I did that to your opponent, you would probably try revenge.

Jesus taught, however, in the Sermon on the Mount, these words after issuing  conduct for Kingdom living:  “. . .but I say unto you, love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them. . .”  Matthew 5:43-48.

 

Of course, I don’t know who took my bumper sticker and I don’t know who vandalized my sign, but I pray for you and your kind.  Only God can change hearts.  We need to ask on their behalf because they are not going to ask for themselves.

1 Comment

  1. Glenda

    Very sad that some people have to be so destructive to show their disagreement. Free speech, I guess, only applies if it matches what the other person wants to hear. I’ve seen MANY non-classy examples of behavior in the last few months, and I fear it’s only going to get worse. “Ole Slewfoot” is not about to give up without a fight, even though he knows the victory is already out of his hands. Just gotta double up on the praying!!

Leave a Reply

