Gideon’s 300

This is actually chronicle XIII in my 40 days of prayer before the National Election.

Each Thursday morning I drive two miles to Hickory Creek Nursing Home and teach a small group Bible study.  This year I have mostly taught on a theme of “52 Bible Women you should Know.”  Once in awhile a man attends, but it is mostly ladies who participate.

Yesterday was no different.  Notes in my bag, songs chosen, smile on my face, I was ready to teach part one of Ruth.  I chatted a few minutes, they joined me in happy song; they had a study guide to follow and everything was going to plan.  It is usual to read through a passage and teach as I go.  Yesterday I rabbit trailed myself.  Since most Bible scholars feel that Naomi, Ruth, Orpah, and Boaz lived during the judgeship of Gideon, that’s where I jumped off the plan.

The intention was to briefly review Gideon, “You recall that Gideon was the judge and also a military leader. . . “ and I began to teach myself.

For the past several weeks the thought of how finite I am has crossed my mind, and heart, daily.  Psalm 8 is a regular thought, “What is man that Thou art mindful of him. . . “ Ah, but God uses small things.  Gideon’s army was too large and God used a process of elimination to pare it down to 300.  In an unconventional way, God used those 300 men who would obey to spare the people of Israel from the Midianites.

I started on this 40 day venture alone.  Then a small group invited me to pray with them.  Still, I feel we are a small number compared to the mockers and despisers of decency.  God reminded me while I was teaching that God’s power is bigger than an army so large it is not numbered in Judges 6 and 7.  Like grasshoppers, the scriptures say.  In that brief sentence or two, the Holy Spirit did His work in my heart.  I will keep on keeping on in prayer for my country.  Obey and pray.

 

If you stop and read Judges six through eight, you can be encouraged.

1 Comment

  1. Glenda

    This is so needed, Karyl. I am reminded of the saying, “You and God together make a majority!” Also, there’s a Greater Vision song that I’ll try to find on YouTube and post, that says “When the only one on your side is God, then I ask you, what else do you need?” Our job is to be sure that we are on the Lord’s side always!

Leave a Reply

