Clean?

Chronicle XIX in the Forty Days of Prayer

John 15:3 “Now ye are clean through the word which I have spoken unto you.”  

These are the words of Jesus.  If you have a red-letter edition of the Bible, these words are in red.  In fact, all of John 15 is in red letters.  Jesus is teaching a discourse on the Vine and branches.  He spoke of fruit bearing branches, and barren branches.  He speaks of the pruning process that enables barren branches to once again be fruitful.

Yesterday my daughter made a Facebook post that spilled some of her frustration with the housekeeping practices of her sons.  I was amused at the replies of her friends.  They all expressed a similar problem.  Since I am not nearly as fastidious as my daughter, I am quite certain, I would have also voiced disapproval for slovenly behavior.

This morning I saw some additional comments from friends that have girls who can be just as slovenly as boys but it is just a little different.  Girls tend to be more selective about careless cleaning.  That set me to thinking.

One of the best things that happened to me during these 40 days of prayer is paying much closer attention to sin or potential sin in my personal living.  There were some sins lying rumpled in a pile on the closet floor, so to speak.  Sins lost in messy drawers.  Smelly sins covered with fresh body spray.

Clean is in the eye of the beholder.  What is acceptably clean to me is not acceptably clean to my daughter.  To her dismay, what is acceptably clean to my daughter, may not be acceptably clean to a professional cleaning lady.

The word used for clean in John 15:3 is katharos. Throughout the New Testament it is used both literally and figuratively.  A person—me or you—may appear to be clean on the outside, but inside, not so much.  There are some socks to throw away, some piles of clothes to be hung up, some smelly things to be discarded.

Some soul searching through reading the Bible, God’s Word, is the cleansing agent.

3 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Amen!!! I am amazed frequently by the things that are in my own life, and God wants to get rid of them. I must turn loose of them, before He can replace them with something better. Thank you for this reminder today! Oh, and that word is strangely similar to the one that is in our language, “catharsis,” which indicates a thorough cleansing inside and out!

    • Okay, you sent me to the dictionary. And yes, catharsis is a derivative of the Greek word, ka’tharsis. It means to cleanse or purge, or purify. Good catch. 🙂

  2. Glenda

    🙂

Leave a Reply

