Poll working and praying

Yesterday, November 6, 2012, along with 8 other poll workers, I helped voters exercise their right to vote.  My day started at 4:00 A.M. because I had to be the polling place at 5:00 to finish setting up and activating the voting machines. The clerks set up their electronic “books” of registered voters, and at 6:00 A.M. when we opened the doors, about 40 voters came out of the cold and stood in line.  By 6:30 we had about 75 voters in line but things were running smoothly.

Of the 8 of us working as clerks or judges (I was a judge—a clumsy term for the person who takes the voter to the booth and sets up the ballot according to precinct location and number), four were democrats and four were republicans.  We were to show no bias and if a voter had a question, one of each party were to participate in the answer.

With my magic PEB I found the appropriate ballot.  My personal goal was to make them feel comfortable and do my best to show a Christ-like spirit.  It didn’t take long to find out which party was which!  I sure was hoping that the bossy, loud-mouthed two were not of my persuasion.  Whew, they were not!  It also did not take me long to find a retired teacher who also was a Christian.  This was my first time ever working as a poll worker.

My observation by mid-afternoon was how very important it is for people to educate themselves before they vote.  Too many voters asked me how to split a ballot.  They wanted some of each party.  We already have such gridlock, I thought, why add more, but then, I couldn’t not show any bias and politely showed them what to do.  I truly do think that is why we still have a Senate that is democrat controlled.  Some people wanted to vote for only President.  Again, I wondered why?  After all, the President is not a dictator.  We have three branches of government.  These are only observations.

Now, as to my 40th day of prayer:  I now have 1,461 days until the next election.  Sigh. Prayer is work, but also a delight.  My prayer card stack can be weeded out some now, but I will continue to pray for revival.  Awakening.  That awakening has to begin in the hearts of Believers who mean it when they say they are “sold out” for God.  It is not for the faint of heart.  Parents, you cannot rear your children in a haphazard way and hope it will all turn out okay.  It won’t.  Satan, as a roaring lion has a big appetite for apathetic Christians.

I leave this page with the words of Jesus in John 16:33:  “These things I have spoken unto you, that in Me ye might have peace.  In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.”

4 Comments

  1. Glenda

    I’m glad you survived that LONG day with your Christian testimony intact. Of course, I had no doubt, because that’s just your way of life, as it should be for ALL who claim the name of Christ. I’m sure you were a blessing to all who had the privilege of working with you.

    I, too, am continuing to pray for our nation. There is much to be resolved, and it is all in our Master’s hands. Thank you for sharing your day—and your heart—with us. 🙂

  2. Roe

    A wonderful verse to end with. I agree that we must keep praying. I know that my prayers for our country have been more faithful and fervent than ever before in my life. I am convicted to be more faithful in this area for the duration.

    • I find it very, exceptionally–difficult to pray for the President. God can’t give him wisdom as he is unregenerate. I pray that he might come to know Christ. If he refuses, perhaps God can remove him. We have some difficult times ahead of us particularly with the economy but also in our safety. We may well be attacked again on our own soil. But, everyday is an adenture and we must stay alert, because the devil does want to devour us everyday. We are now down to 1460 days. We keep an upward look, and march onward. We must not retreat!

  3. I liked the verse at the end too….plus the Poli-Sci class!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

Leave a Reply

