Advent Project

This project could be adapted to other age levels.  Adults could use it devotionally.

Since Saturday is December 1, the need for this project to be completed is, well, upon me!  Friday is a day when I usually don’t have any student tutoring and a good day for a project with the grandchildren.   Here’s my project for Advent this year:

I have 28 copies (allowing for mistakes) of ornaments to color/decorate/cut out.  I made the ornament templates on white 62# stock, two per page.  I have three children who will participate ranging in age from 2 ½ to 12.  So, I will have crayons, glue, glitter, bits of lace, ribbon, rick rack, etc with which to adorn our ornaments.  Each ornament will have a name for God/Jesus on it.  We will discuss the names of God while we color each ornament.  Gary, the Dad, or Debby, the Mom, can add information as they wish.

Each day the children will take one ornament from the storage envelope or box and put it in a designated place.  This place could be a door, window, or whatever.  When the ornament container is empty, it will be time to open presents and have Happy Birthday Jesus time.

Names I am using are suggested from a website where I found the idea:  http://www.easyfunschool.com/article1679.html.

I would type the list for you, but instead, I gave you the link!  I am looking forward to working on this project with the grandchildren who live close to me.  My son, who lives in New York state probably, has already made a paper chain with his daughter.  I ordered the book for my Mississippi daughter, The ADVENTure of Christmas for them to use.  Gary will be using the book again this year as he has for the past several years.  I saw it set out on the piano ready to go.  I just wanted something fun for the younger ones to do this year with Nana.

Grandparents, if you live close to your grandchildren, don’t miss these days of opportunity to instill the real meaning of Christmas to those precious ones God has given you.  If your grandchildren don’t live close to you, adopt!  I remember inviting neighborhood children into my little apartment in Minneapolis years ago before I had children of my own.  It is a blessed time of the year to teach Who Jesus is and why He came.

3 Comments

  1. I like this Idea!!!! Share some pictures what the project is complete…. Have a great weekend and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    • It is mid afternoon, Kenny, and I just now sat down to read blogs. Your was precious today and even more so since I just spent time “coloring” ornaments with my little Kamryn. Pictures–good idea. I’ll try. The boys and I are doing more tomorrow at my house.

      • I’ve been trying to get the lights on the tree all day and I’m getting so close to finishing. I’m hoping to finish before my wife comes home, then we can put the old Christmas music on later tonight and decorate. But for now, that cup of coffee is calling my name!!! I’m glad you enjoyed the post today! I hope you have a wonderful weekend! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

Leave a Reply

