Lighting the Tree

Putting up a Christmas tree has not been top priority for me this year.  It is such a chore to drag everything out for four weeks.  But this weekend, I dragged it all out.  I have to admit, I’d forgotten about the Christmas mugs, and Christmas towels.  That will be a nice change.

Yesterday I assembled the tree and put it in a corner instead of in front of the window.  Smiling I stood back and came to the realization that now I had less tree to decorate.  Today, I took out the top strand of lights, plugged them in, and they actually worked.  I decided one strand was enough this year.  By the time I wove the lights into the tree, the top half of the lights were now NOT working.  The first thing to do is to look for a loose bulb, right?  About half way down the strand I found NO light bulb at all.  The power was available; the bulb was missing. I found the bulb on the floor and slipped it back into the socket. And I kept thinking.

Whenever we work in a group, everyone needs to work.  If you sing in the choir, and half the tenors don’t show up for practice, well, it just doesn’t sound right.  If you work in a business, and you don’t show up, someone has to double up on work that day.  If you have a family responsibility, you need to be committed to doing your part.  If someone never takes out the trash, YIKES!

Whether we understand it or not, every Christian needs to realize that a responsibility is waiting.  If you don’t tell that station attendant about Jesus, perhaps no one else will do it.  That responsibility of personal witness is perhaps the most missed “bulb” in the string of Christian lights.

Jesus clearly taught his disciples in the Sermon on the Mount, “Ye are the light of the world. . .” and that truth has not changed in the last 2000 years.  Jesus went on in verse 16 to speak in the imperative:  “Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father which is in Heaven.”

As a bulb, hold tightly to the power source so that you will be a shining light in this world of sin and darkness.  Shine, even if you think they don’t want to see it.  Just shine.

4 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Another wonderful object lesson! Thank you for this reminder today!

  2. alysonmcgee

    Karyl I’ve been texting this message to some of my friends.Be a light.Be the difference in somebody’s life today.Thank you Karyl.

    • And I thank you, Alyson and I hope your friends find the message helpful and then they can follow on their own too. I see that you registered to follow. I am humbled at the confidence it shows when people choose to follow.

  3. Conviction, conviction, conviction….Sighhhhhhh

Leave a Reply

