The Candle

Candles are so very popular as decorative, scented accessories that we now take them for granted.  A few miles from my dwelling the now very famous Yankee Candle® Company has an outlet store.  Their trademarked scents are long-lasting and the light certainly adds ambiance to any room.

Curious, I looked for the word candle in my handy concordance on line and found the word used alone, or in compound form, candlestick, 56 times.  While I leave thorough Bible study to my friend, Linda, I found three verses particularly interesting.

Psalm 18:28 is just about in the middle of a song, written by David after being delivered from the enemies incited by King Saul, states:  “for Thou wilt light my candle: the Lord, my God, will enlighten my darkness.”  Since the frequent use of a candle was to illuminate in a practical way, so it remains today.  When we walk in fear, we feel intense darkness surrounding us, even in the daylight.  David casts aside the fear that had enveloped him when he understood it is the Lord that enlightens our way, even in the darkest days of fear. It was also interesting to me that I have a date written beside that passage in my Bible.  It indicates a time when my mother, in declining health, came to live with me.

Now, Proverbs 20:27 takes me a different direction.  “The spirit of man is the candle of the Lord, searching all the inward parts of the belly.”  We are made in three parts:  body, soul, spirit.  Of those three parts, it is our spirit that connects with God.  That is the part of us that connects with the Holy Spirit.  Like a candle that illuminates our darkness, the Holy Spirit is our Teacher, guiding us into all truth. (John 16:13) It is when I allow the Holy Spirit to touch my spirit, that illumination begins.  I have to be willing, however, for the Holy Spirit to bring light to my spirit—my candle.

I touched on the last verse that speaks to me about candles among those 56 verses:  Matthew 5:15.  The light of truth springs forth from us to others and we become lights of the world.  Jesus admonished the disciples not to put the light under a bushel.  Let the light be set high.  The higher we hold a candle, the more light we get in a room.  It is a law of science.  Jesus taught it in a practical way.

It is my vision that when you light a candle next time you will think of at least one of these verses and let it minister to your heart’s need.

 

For thorough verse-by-verse Bible Study I recommend http://lindasbiblestudy.wordpress.com

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Thank you for this today, Karyl! We must always remember, as the Psalmist, that God’s Word is a lamp unto our feet and a light unto our paths. Jesus is the true Light!

  2. Debbie Haywood

    So very true—Jesus the True Light. This old world is full of counterfiet lights. Oh for the day when there will be no night, or sun but the True Light shinning on us eternaly

Leave a Reply

