What’s in a Name?

When a family experiences the birth of a baby, one of the first questions asked is “What did they name the baby?”  Our names are personal and belong to only us.  Sometimes a name comes from a long family line of names, sometimes from an admired person in history or the Bible, or sometimes it is just plain fanciful.

Juliet spoke the familiar words in Act 2, scene 2 of Romeo and Juliet:

“What’s in a name?  That which we call a rose,

By any other name would smell as sweet.”

Some nationalities favor naming their baby boys Jesus.  I find that odd.  The Jesus of the Bible should be His alone.  Certainly Jesus is a man to be respected and emulated; it just seems unusual to lower His name to a human.  Maybe it is just me; I do know that Philippians 2:9 declares in speaking of Jesus, “Wherefore God hath highly exalted Him, and given Him a name which is above every name. . .”  How could a person ever live up to that name!

Just to be sure that the request would be carried out, the angel who spoke to Mary told her to name her baby boy Jesus and then to make the request firm, Joseph also received the same order.  (Matthew 1:21 and Luke 1:31)

As the songwriter, Lelah B. Long wrote: “Jesus is the sweetest name I Know.”

The refrain is worth singing all day long!

Jesus is the sweetest name I know, /And He’s just the same /As His lovely name./And that’s reason why I love Him so, /O Jesus is the sweetest name I know.

Not only do I know His name, I know Him.  He is my Savior, my Good Shepherd.  I do love His name, Jesus.  How much better and wiser to bow before the name of Jesus now.  Bow in love, honor, worship.  Philippians 2:10 carries the sentence further: “that at the name of Jesus every knee shall bow, of things in Heaven, and things in earth, and things under the earth; and every tongue shall confess that Jesus Christ is Lord to the glory of God the Father.”  

If you do not personally know this Jesus, please contact me.  I’ll tell you more.

 

 

1 Comment

  1. Glenda

    Oh, yes!! Jesus is the sweetest name I know! There are many other songs with that same theme—There’s just something about that name; What a lovely name; Safe in the arms of Jesus; I could go on and on! I always feel a bit strange when I see the name used for other people, also, even when it’s pronounced as “He-soos” instead of “Je-sus.” Thank you for reminding us of the reverence we owe to Him always!

Leave a Reply

