Forever

Forever is a long, long, long time.  In fact, it is without end.  Synonyms include:  perpetual, everlasting, eternal, ceaseless, and evermore. Why am I venturing into this subject?

Well, because a commercial on television is irritating me.  Publishers Clearing House is promoting their yearly babble about the annual prize.  They are calling it the “forever” prize.  The first prize money is $5,000 per week, for a lifetime and then goes on for the lifetime of another person the winner chooses.  At least that is my understanding of it.  Is that forever?  No.  It is for two generations at the most.

The United State Post Office came up with a “forever” stamp.  It has no price marked on it and once purchased can be used in the future regardless of price increases.  After my mother passed away I slowly went through her things and found a book of “forever” stamps.  Most of the stamps were available.  Sure enough, when I took that book of stamps to the post office and asked about them, they were valid.  The book of stamps was about four years old and postage rates had increased. The “forever” stamp will be good as long as the USPS exists.  Not forever.

The creators of the “forever” stamp and the “forever” prize do not understand eternity.  They do understand a very long time, but they do not understand time without end.

The very nature of God is that He is Eternal.  The past two days I have listened to the Bible book of Isaiah.  In the first sixty chapters I have stopped to note or underline times when God is speaking and declares Himself to be the first and the last.  That is eternal.  The salvation that God promises us is not just for a very long time; it is eternal. Just one verse of many in the Bible that describes our salvation is found in John 10.  Jesus is speaking (if you have a red-letter edition you will see that clearly) and says:  “My sheep hear my voice and I know them and they follow me:  and I give unto them eternal life; they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand.” (Verses 27 & 28)  There is no expiration on that promise.  The question is:  Are you His sheep?  Have you taken the personal responsibility to trust Jesus for that eternal life?

 

3 Comments

  1. Read the post, then got to the advertisement below…liquor…somehow Maker’s Mark Whiskey just doesn’t seem to go with THE MAKER!!

    • Sorry about the advertisement. I have no control over that. WordPress is a free blog site so they advertise at their will, not mine. Once in a while I put a disclaimer on my blog regarding the ads, I just haven’t done it for awhile. Thanks Kay.

  2. Glenda

    I am SO thankful that He made a way for us to be with Him for eternity, even though the finite mind cannot fathom a beginning with no beginning and an end with no end! I have just completed the Book of the Revelation, where Christ is described as the Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end, and have seen comparisons to Psalm 119, with each section of eight verses beginning with a Hebrew word. Whatever those comparisons may mean, there is only One Way to enjoy an eternity of bliss as we worship our living Lord!! Thank you for this reminder as we end one year and go on into another, not knowing where the path may lead. Happy New Year, Karyl! 🙂

Leave a Reply

