“Okay”

My daughter and granddaughter went to Hobby Lobby today to show our support and saw some other friends there too.  My granddaughter is 2 ½ and I suppose because she is growing up with four older brothers, she is quite verbal.  Girls also tend to be more verbal, I am told.

We spent a fair amount of time looking at Christmas markdowns, visiting with people we knew, and my daughter stocked up on hairbow supplies for her business.  After our shopping in Hobby Lobby, we stopped at McDonalds to grab a bite and moved on to the major shopping stop:  Sam’s Club.

As we pulled into the parking lot and circled it two times looking for a parking place, all of a sudden Kamryn said, “I’m scared!”  She did sound alarmed.  I immediately looked around us and saw nothing.  My daughter said, “It’s okay, Kamryn, there’s nothing to be afraid of.”  Kamryn brightened right away and said, “Okay.”

That reminded me of times when I whisper to God, “I’m afraid.” and just as soon, God refreshes my memory that everything is okay.  And I say to His comforting promise, “Lo, I am with you always” and my heart readily says, “Okay.”

I wish that it were always as unwavering and confident as my granddaughter.

 

4 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Oh, for the faith of a little child again! Is it any wonder that Jesus instructed the disciples to allow the little children to come to Him? We adults, in our “intelligence,” tend to forget that simple faith is a necessary ingredient of the Christian life. Thank you, Kamryn, for reminding us of this fact, and thank you, Karyl, for passing it along to us!

  2. Such a very good lesson for us all! 😀

  3. Loved the story!!!! We went to Hobby Lobby too!!!! And looked at Christmas sale left overs…. We didn’t look at the hair bows!!! LOL Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  4. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

