When the Lights go Out

302 words takes about a minute to read.  I hope this will be a minute used wisely as you read this.

Yesterday a snow storm hit an area of the country that does not deal well with snow.  I used to live in Sevier County and understand.  The Great Smoky Mountains are scenic and draw thousands of visitors each year.  It is not unusual for snow to fall in the elevations.  However, when it snows in the lower parts, very often it is crippling.

The electric power lines fall under heavy, wet snow.  Sometimes the electricity can be out for several days.  Because I worked for a hotel, when snow or ice prediction came, I knew that I, as a supervisory employee would have to stay.  We kept an overnight bag in our cars because we had to be available.  During those times job titles shifted.  Cleaning rooms, making guest breakfast, and even shoveling a walkway became our substitute job.

Storms of life sometimes cause our lights to flicker.  Temptations of wind threaten to make our spiritual light go out.  When Jesus, the Light of the World, is left out of our lives, nothing works quite like it should.  We can find substitutions such as listening to good music, hearing decent lectures, or making friends with upright people.  However, there is no substitute for Jesus.  Without Jesus, we have no light at all.

As the children’s song lyrics state, “This little light of mine, I’m going to let it shine. .  .” I may not be a lighthouse, but I can shine where God puts me.  It may be a small light on a stair landing, but without that light, someone may fall to dreadful injury.  I cannot just flicker.  I cannot let storms put out my light.

Jesus said, “Ye are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hid.

3 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Another great object lesson!! Yes, our beautiful Smoky Mountains can cause great hazards during such a storm, and I’m quite thankful that we did not lose our electricity through it all!! Our lights must always shine so others can wonder why we are not affected by the darkness around us. I pray often that others may see the true Light through my life and testimony. Thank you for reminding us of this truth today!! 🙂

  2. One of my mother’s oft-shared memories was when she and thousands of others were stuck all over New York in a sudden blackout. She was several stories up in some building. She and total strangers linked arms to carefully make their way down the stairs together. It ended up being a precious experience for all of them. If I know my mom she had probably made lifelong friends by the time they reached the street level. Little lights lit their way not from bulbs but from hearts.

    • What a lovely experience to share, Jessica. I vaguely remember news of that black out in NYC and thinking how it could strangle a city. No strangulation when people work together to light the way in darkness. Such a precious truth. Thank you very much for taking time to share.

Leave a Reply

