Quarantine

This morning I was once again unable to conduct my Bible study group at a local nursing home.  The residents are in quarantine.  Some of the residents are sick with coughs, and influenza symptoms.  A few of the residents, it is my understanding, are quarantined in their rooms. My volunteer basis of helping out is shut off as well.

I miss my visits because the folks have so much to give, not in the eyes of many folks, but I see them as folks wealthy in life experience.  How I wish that younger people would see the benefit of paying attention to those confined and restricted just because they don’t think clearly anymore.  They may forget what they ate for breakfast or that they ate at all, but they do remember 50 or 60 years ago and love to talk about those days.  Eva’s father owned a herd of sheep and she loves to talk about taking care of them.  Nancy lost all of her earthly possessions in a house fire.  She knows what it is like to start over.

Today, however, I can’t hear their stories and sing the old songs with them.  I am shut out and they are shut in.  The command from God is, Come out from among them, and be ye separate,” saith the Lord.” Separation is a “hot topic” issue.  Although I don’t think our Biblical principles should ever change, it seems as if the issues of personal responsibility are not as serious as they used to be.  I don’t know why.  There are some things that tend to be a law unto themselves, I know, yet, if a Bible principle is clear, then why blur the lines?

I don’t want the flu, and I don’t want to give the flu germs that I might accidentally take into Hickory Creek.  For one more week, I will be separate.  For the rest of my life I will be separate from sinful activity so that I will not learn something sinful, and so that I won’t teach sinful habits by example…  Quarantined from sinful ways.

2 Comments

  1. Karyl, I believe part of the reason the issues of personal responsibility are blurred is that Christians have been conned into accepting a non-biblical worldview of life. Nothing is clear-cut. Situational ethics theory has taught that we have to do what is right for ourselves, using our own thinking, logic, and emotion as a guide to what is right and wrong. Instead of using God’s Word as our moral compass, we are using our own hearts. Dangerous. Jeremiah 17:9 says the heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked. We’re in a mess, indeed, when unbelievers can’t see from our daily lives whether or not we are followers of Christ.

  2. Glenda

    I agree with both of you ladies. Recently, I have read an article written by a professed homosexual, who was invited to join Dan Cathy at the Chick-Fil-A Bowl after Cathy had reached out to him as a person who was interested in his soul. I don’t remember the man’s name right now, but when I read his article, I was amazed by the comments from other “gay” people, who accused him of selling out to the “other side” just because he wrote intelligently about his friendship with Mr. Cathy. The amazing thing to me about that is that, although they want their life styles to be accepted, they seem unwilling to believe that a “straight” person could actually want to befriend them, thus giving that person a chance to show what Christianity is all about. Now, I’m not going to seek out a person who is a non-believer just because that’s what he/she is, but when I meet one, I hope that I’ll be courageous enough to share my beliefs and show that Christ loves all of us and wants us to be saved for eternity. I have done that many times, and I’m sure that the other person at least has gone away with something to think about, even if he/she did not make a profession of faith at the time. I hope those ladies at Hickory Creek will all recover from the various illnesses that are keeping them separated from your fine teaching!!

Leave a Reply

