Hank and Jack

Jack is my grandson’s hamster.  Hank is my hamster.  Just as I am a person, and you are a person, we are both very individual.  Jack and Hank are also very individual.  They remind me of two scriptural truths.  Psalm 139:11-14 tells me that God knew me in my mother’s womb and that I am fearfully and wonderfully made.  Ephesians 2:10 tells me that I am His workmanship “created unto Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.”

We are uniquely created for a particular purpose.  Some of us sing well, some of us sew well, some of us are inclined to be very particular about cleanliness, some of us cook well, and some of us are technologically adept.  It takes all of us to produce harmonious glory to our Creator.

Hank is fastidious and never sleeps in a corner where he tends to relieve himself.  Jack does not seem to care.  Hank is timid.  Jack is far friendlier.  Hank plays on his wheel on and off and seems to make a game of it.  Jack runs endlessly on the wheel.  Hank doesn’t stuff his little pouch full of food and then bury it.  Hank nibbles.  They are both hamsters but both have different personalities.

My mom used to tell me, “Karyl, it takes all kinds of people to make the world go ‘round.”  She was right.  So, if you are a workaholic, to counterbalance you, God made the “laid back” person.  God seemed to make race horses and work horses.  In the end, we are all essential in families, churches, businesses, and neighborhoods.  What’s important is for us to look on the positive qualities in other people, and in ourselves.

Under the guidance of our Good Shepherd, let’s just do what we do best:  be individual and carry out the purpose for which we were created.

Hank is Hank.  Jack is Jack.  I am me.  You are you. God is God of all.

 

 

1 Comment

  1. Glenda

    A wonderful reminder!! I tend to be more laid back, and one of my most recent jobs involved working with a more “workaholic” type. She had very little patience with me, and it seemed to annoy her when I just let her scream without screaming back at her! There were many difficulties with that job, but I learned a lot about appreciating others. Of course, I had to admit when I was wrong, but that didn’t hurt me! I’m thankful for all the people God has placed into my life and for the lessons I’ve learned!

Leave a Reply

