What kind of noise. . .

Saturday my car decided to try a new noise.  Since the noise was new to me, I took it to the shop this morning.  Of course, the first question that the mechanic’s ask is, “What kind of noise is it making?”  Since I like drama and the stage, I am never intimidated by this question.  Cars hiss, click, screech, grind, hum, buzz, cough, whistle, and other assorted noises.  So, I make the noise as best I can for them.

Since my car was about seventh in line, the mechanic has not yet called me with a diagnosis.  Sadly, when I drove the car the 2.5 miles to the garage this morning—you guessed it—no noise.  When I explained the lack of problem this morning, the fellow filling in the paperwork simply said, “Well, it’s a car.”  Whatever does that mean?  Fortunately I have family to help me with my situation.

Christians make all sorts of noises too.  Groans, complaints, sorrowing, anger, fear, worrisome sounds.  Does God, our Creator, think or even say, “Well, it’s my child.”  God is aware of all our sounds.  He also hears rejoicing, praise, happiness, and worship.  God, unlike the fellow at the garage, shrug his shoulders and walk away.  With that knowledge also comes the awareness that for all ages represented, “Even a child is known by his doings whether his work be pure and whether it be right.” (Proverbs 20:11)  Time and age are of no consequence to God.  He knows the beginning and the end and He always is listening for our voice.

What kind of noise. . .

2 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Oh, this reminds me of that Greater Vision song, “God Wants to Hear You Sing!” One verse says that He loves to hear our praise on our cheerful days, when happy times outweigh the bad by far; but when troubles come along and we still sing Him songs, that is when we bless the Father’s heart! I love that song, as I first heard it during an especially difficult time in my life, when I was asking God “WHY???” I know that He wants us to share everything with Him, and I’m so thankful that He is always there, but I’m sure He likes to know that we have learned to trust Him enough to sing, no matter what noise the world is making! Thank you for this reminder, and I hope you get a good answer for your car. They are quite complex these days, and even the simplest “fix” is expensive.

    • Yes! I went right to You Tube to hear it. Thanks for mentioning it. I found someone had compiled Top Ten requested Greater Vision and had a mini concert. I needed that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

