Who is the Blessing?

“Thy Word have I hid in my heart that I might not sin against Thee.”  Psalm119:11

Hickory Creek Home is a 24-hour care facility.  Almost all of the residents are elderly and need more care than family can furnish. Although I believe that family should take care of family as much as possible, there does come a time when care needs to be passed on to the professional.  I know.  My mother resided at Hickory Creek Home the last 15 months of her life.  The five years prior to that, she was able to stay alone in my home while I worked.  When I could no longer trust that she would not wander away, I had to quit working and even then, I just needed a professional caregiver.  Hickory Creek is a small, 37-bed facility and a perfect place for Mom.  It was not quite two miles from my house and I went to see her almost every day.  When I didn’t go to see her, my daughter visited her. (And spoiled her with Steak and Shake strawberry shakes!)

After Mom was carried off to Heaven to join Daddy and  my sister. I actually missed going to the home on a regular basis.  When I went to the office to settle the final account, I asked if I could volunteer.  They had a Bible study class that needed a teacher and knowing both my faith and Mom’s they slipped me right into the Bible Study teacher slot. I already knew several of the residents and their families. The fit was perfect, and in God’s timing.

This morning, like most Thursday mornings, I found myself seated with my group.  Sam joined us today.  He can be difficult and loud. Verbal communication is a struggle for Sam.  Although Sam is wheel-chair bound, he is quick!  He gets out of the chair because he forgets that walking is difficult, and sometimes falls.  So, Sam wears a protective helmet.  This morning the activities director brought him to Bible study.  “He loves Jesus,” she said, “and the Bible.” Many groups visit the home and sing for the residents, but don’t sing with them.  I always give out sang sheets and we sing two or three songs.  Sam burst into song this morning with clarity and joy.  I could understand every word of “Mansion Over the Hilltop.”  He also knew the words to “I’ll Fly Away” and “Farther Along.”

Two of the staff stopped and listened in wonder and amazement.  He was quiet for most of the Bible lesson.  I went over to his chair after the lesson and said, “Sam, You have God’s Word in your heart don’t you.”  He patted his chest and said “Yes.”  Then I asked, “Is Jesus there too?”  Again, he nodded his head and quietly said with a faint smile, “Yes.”

How important is it to memorize Bible verses?  Ask Sam.

How important is it to attend church and sing in praise to God?  Ask Sam.

I went to be a blessing and inspiration.  Sam blessed and inspired me.

4 Comments

  1. One of your best, Karyl. God has certainly given you a heart for these folks, and I am certain they love you just as much as you love them.

  2. Aww, what a heartwarming post.

  3. Glenda

    How wonderful is our God to give us blessings while we are trying to bless others with His love! I’m happy that Sam was there, and that you saw that side of him. One Thursday, you will go to Hickory Creek and find that he has moved to Heaven, and you will have the joy of knowing that you brought pleasure to his life for a little while. Thank you for sharing this with us.

  4. I just absolutely love it!!!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

Leave a Reply

