The Weather Forecaster

Of all the occupations there are from which to choose, I don’t think I would like to forecast weather.  The forecaster on a television channel actually is the one who brings in the viewers.  The channel I view in the morning has the weatherman I like best.  He is frequently accurate.

Out on the farm where I grew to maturity my grandfather and father predicted the weather.  Both of them could tell time by watching the sun move across the sky.  We didn’t have electricity so if someone forgot to wind the main clock in the house; we just functioned from daylight to nightfall without a clock. The paternal side of my family were about as accurate with the weather as our modern weather forecasters!  If the crickets chirped a certain way, the weather would be a certain way.  Even signals from the family dog gave signals for those men!  When the chickens sought an early roost, one could be certain a storm was brewing.  Check the direction of the wind, look at the sky, and make a prediction.

All that came to mind when I read Psalm 46 today.  When I read:  “Therefore shall we not fear though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea; though the waters thereof roar and be troubled. . .”  (Verses 2 & 3)  That surely sound as if an earthquake or hurricane could be happening to me!  In all this, say the singers of this psalm, God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.

The elements of weather are as old as creation and the first weather forecaster, I suppose, was Noah. Did the people take precautions?  No.  Today we have tornado sirens and weather radios.  Yet, people do not always take precautions.  Sometimes a billboard along the road gives the warning:  “Prepare to meet thy God.” (Amos 4:12)  That sign was paid for and placed there as a loving, yet stern warning.

Will we be warned?

3 Comments

  1. Glenda

    There are warnings everywhere, but people just don’t want to be bothered. It is up to us to pass along those warnings, but I will shame-facedly confess that I am not as diligent with that as I should be. Thank you for this reminder, and I’m praying that I’ll be better with passing along those warnings to others.

    On a lighter note, your reference to a sign reminded me of one of my favorite Burma-Shave signs from LONG ago. It said, “Angels who guard us when we drive usually retire at 65!” I don’t know how many people slowed down after reading that, but my dad explained it to me and I have remembered it for all these decades!

    • For us it does become decades, Glenda. I can remember making the periodic trip to visit a relative in St. Paul, MN and reading every Burma Shave string of signs too.

  2. Your post reminded me of Matthew 16 in which Jesus spoke of reading the signs of the times and compared it to reading the weather. Recognizing the signs for the Christian induces excitement, anxiety, and urgency. May the Lord richly bless you for your faithfulness to share His Word and sound a warning in love.

Leave a Reply

