Riding the Bus

John 4:35-36 “Jesus said unto them, “My meat is to do the will of Him that sent Me, and to finish His work.35 Say not ye, ‘There are yet four months and then cometh the harvest’? Behold, I say unto you, lift up your eyes and look on the fields, for they are white already to harvest. 36 And he that reapeth receiveth wages and gathereth fruit unto life eternal, that both he that soweth and he that reapeth may rejoice together.” (Emphasis in bold is mine.)

At least twice a week I make a journey of about two miles to work and volunteer.  Until recently, my transportation has been my trusty car.  The car, however, has been less than trustworthy lately so this week I decided to take public transportation.  Since I had not ridden on a bus since my college years, it was an interesting experience to say the least.

The nearest bus stop is four blocks from my house.  It is a pleasant walk and the weather was bearable.  The bus stop, located on a college campus, emits a feeling of youth.  I enjoyed that.  To their credit, the students were friendly and even offered me shelter inside the building for it was very windy.

Once I boarded the bus, to my chagrin, I didn’t even know how to pay the fare!  I did know from the website that it needed to be correct change.  The driver was exceptionally congenial and for the rest of the route he pointed out stops and things to know since I had indicated that I would probably be a regular rider.  To my joy, I found that the driver will stop in between marked spots to let passengers off and let passengers board.  As I already mentioned, this driver was exceptionally helpful.

What interested me most were the passengers.  Most of them had an existing relationship with the driver and called him by first name.  The driver also asked them about themselves as well.  It reminded me of the movie, Riding the Bus with my Sister.   Most of all, the driver, Brian, was approachable.  The quality of being approachable is not easily found in our modern society these days.

Now I have a new mission field.  I need to supply myself with gospel tracts.  The look on the faces I saw pleaded “Give me hope.”  The entire loop on the route I’ll most often use is forty minutes.  It would not be right for me to interact with these other riders without giving them hope.  Jesus expressed the mission field all around us when He said, “. . . the harvest truly is plenteous, but the laborers are few.” (Matthew 9:37)

I’ll be riding the bus with my Good Shepherd.  Our mission field.

5 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Oh, I am sure you will be a total blessing to those on the bus with you!! You are quite youthful in your appearance, and you are also quite approachable, so those college students will enjoy getting to know you, especially if it’s the same basic group of students each week. I’ll be praying that God will give you the openings to share your TRUTH with them all, in His time!!

    • Most of the college students drive, but some ride to WalMart via the bus. They are friendly on campus, however. I give them credit. Franklin College is funded in large part by Eli Lilly Foundation. Originally it was a Methodist school. The driver also saved me two blocks of walking and told me where to wave him down. Silly me, I look at this as an adventure while most people would be grumpy about it. I knew sooner or later my eyesight would start making me afraid to drive. Still don’t know what to do about my car. For now it is “resting.”

      • Glenda

        Well, at least you are near a bus line so that you can get around while your car “rests!” You have a truly great attitude about the things that you have faced during your life, and God has given you the spirit to keep on keeping on! 🙂

  2. Margaret Hoff

    Loved the blog. This sounds like you. You are a blessing to all who know you. You are a beautiful example of our Bible study lesson.

  3. I love your heart.

Leave a Reply

