Hank’s Adventure

Almost every evening I sit down in my recliner, put Hank in my lap, and let him have the freedom to run up and down my arms, across my shoulders, behind my back.  He looks over the edge of the chair arm and I just know someday he is going to get away from me, but I don’t have a cat.  Hank seems to trust me.  After last night, I am not sure he should!

I bought Hank shortly after Christmas.  It is cold in my recliner, so I cover it with an old electric blanket and I sit on it instead of under it—except for last night.  When Hank did his little journey behind my back he did not come to the other side.  Instead, he snooped around and went between the seat and the arm cushion.  He had never seen such a place before since it was always covered.

Gently I raised out of the chair and felt around for him.  When I touched him, he moved away. Now he was further than ever.  Very carefully, I tipped the chair on its back and miraculously Hank fell out.  He just sat there in a stupor.  Poor little Hank Hamster.  For some reason, Hank doesn’t want me to pick him up today.  We are going to have to work on this trust issue again.

Unlike God, I was not careful with my pet hamster.  God is always careful and always watching.  He sees every sparrow fall, (Matthew 12:29) and knows how many steps I take per day, (Job 14:16) and He knows the number of hairs on my head! (Matthew 12:30)  While I felt the blame for not protecting Hank, God knew Hank better than I do!  Why in the world should I be unnecessarily concerned about anything?

 

 

 

10 Comments

  1. Glenda

    BUT…You still rescued Hank, even if your methods were crude, and he’s safe because of your efforts! God sometimes lets us fall just a bit before picking us up and putting us back on solid ground. Hank may not understand why you did what you did, and he won’t be the one to thank you for getting him out of what could have been a MUCH more dangerous situation, but you can rest assured that your little friend is safe because you did the best you could to keep him from becoming a hamster pancake! Thanks for this lesson again!

  2. I did fail to protect him in the first place. He did let me pick him up this morning and I let him explore my desk for a little while. Jack is coming for a visit next week. Wonder what that will bring.

  3. Reblogged this on Morning Story and Dilbert.

    • I am so blessed to have met you on your blog, Kenny. I hope that this little story about my Hank will warm hearts. TY.

      • It has warmed my hear for sure…. Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  4. This sweet story reminded me of my childhood pet hamster – Chewy. His water bottle accidentlynturned over and soaked him in water. He got sick and never recovered. His sneeze was the cutest thing and I clearly see him under the tiny hamster blanket I crocheted for him. Bittersweet but fond memories. Thank you.

    • Aww, thanks for letting me know. I never would have dreamed that a hamster could be such a sweet pet but Hank has been a joy.

  5. Aww, I’ve been waiting for this one but got behind in my blog-reading. Loved it 🙂

    And I’m telling you, it’s not as hard for God to count the hairs on my head as it was 20 years ago. He may have more trouble keeping up with the ones that are falling out or re-appearing on my chin!

    • Hank is very active tonight but the day after his adventure he was a little less energetic. I was a little concerned. Silly little hamster! I don’t know why I got to attached already.
      As to the hairs, I am having chin hairs too and had to get a 3x mirror in order to see them to pluck!

  6. I love this!

Leave a Reply

