Duck Tongue

Duck is delicious.  I never knew that duck was such an expensive food until I was in my late twenties.  We ate duck in my home because it was available!  Our farm had a small lake across the road from the farmhouse.  Each morning we would see a parade of ducks and geese waddling and talking noisily down their path to the lake.  During the day we could see them swimming happily on the lake as they snapped up dragon flies and other sundry items.  In the evening they came back to the safety of their dwelling place in the barn where the chickens also roosted.

Each spring some of the females would be absent from the parade and my grandfather usually knew where the ducks were nesting and how long it would be before we could expect to see a little line of ducklings going to the lake with Mama Duck.  Each little duckling and gosling were a potential meal.  None of the fowl living on the Wegner farm were safe from Grandpa’s axe.  Grandpa knew which ones to spare so that next spring we would have that parade of little ones waddling down the path to the lake; all of them potential meat for the Sunday dinner table.

Recently I stumbled across a recipe for duck tongue and was shocked.  Really, I thought, who would have discovered such a small piece of the duck to eat?  Turns out, it came from the Chinese.  You have heard, perhaps, the expression:  “Waste not, want not.  For you may live to see the day that you will say, ‘Oh how I wish I had that (duck tongue?) which once I threw away.” Looking further on the internet I read the story of Westerners eating at a restaurant in China and their adventure in duck tongue eating.  It seems, according to them, that the tongue is jerked out of the duck head as if with a pliers. I am supposing that is after the head is detached from the rest of the duck.

So, where am I going with this?  There are some cultures, I understand, where the tongue is cut from the human body as a punishment.  The Bible has much to say about the tongue.  Years ago, as I was reading through the Bible I put a large “T” beside any verse that dealt with the tongue or how we speak.  I don’t use that Bible anymore since it retired a few years ago.  It was a valuable venture to mark all those “T’s” in the margin.  I also recall that Jesus said that we will have to give an account of all the words we speak.

I conclude with, “Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in Thy sight, O Lord, my Strength and my Redeemer.”  (Psalm 19:14) One more:  Luke 6:45 affirms “that out of the heart, the mouth speaketh.”

In case you are wondering, duck tongue is not on my menu this week or any time that I can determine.  It is a whopping $17.00 a pound from a duck farm here in the U.S.  I am far too frugal to try duck tongue.  I’ll leave that to “Chopped” on the Foodnetwork channel!

2 Comments

  1. Glenda

    I cannot even imagine eating duck tongue, but it must be a delicacy in some parts of the world!! You are very right about the tongue being a dangerous thing, of course. I always think of the verses in James, where the tongue is described as a fire that cannot be tamed. Over the years, I have been guilty of using my tongue in very hurtful ways, I’m afraid, and I believe that God has taken me through a taming process. Thank you for this reminder, which is, as always, very timely!

  2. Great Post!!! LOL!!! I loved the illustration of the Duck Tongue!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

Leave a Reply

