173 Games

It is coming!  The crack of the bat and roar of the crowd! April 1 is the opening day for Professional Baseball.  Readers who have been with me the last several months know that I like the game of baseball.  My favored team is the Atlanta Braves.  I have never been anything except a Braves fan.  As a child our family drove to Milwaukee for two or three games per season and otherwise listened to the games on the radio.  When the team moved to Atlanta, I moved my loyalty right along with them.

I don’t get to watch very many games up here in Indiana because the channels carry Cubs, or Reds regularly instead.  I have therefore adjusted to watching the Braves on their website.  Gameday on the website is free, but there is no sound and it is stickmen playing.  Now, do you agree—I am an Atlanta Braves fan!

There are quotes from both teams on the game preview that struck me as I read them.  Chris Medlen, of the Braves said: “I’m a big believer in playing the game,” he said. “I don’t like talking about potential. It’s like talking about prospects. Cool, you throw hard, but you don’t know anything about pitching. You just don’t know anything until you play the game. I don’t like talking about rosters or who looks good on paper. I just like playing the game and trying to beat whoever we are playing.”  Paul Hamels of the Phillys said basically the same thing.  So much for reporter’s predictions!

The same is true in everyday life.  We can predict for ourselves, but in the end, it is the results that matter.  For instance, we may go to work and find out by mid morning that the company has been sold and you just lost your job.  What counts is playing the game—the attitude.  We need to be prepared, but it is the result that counts.

Retired manager, Bobby Cox, was known for saying, “I don’t know why we lost; we played well.”  It frustrated reporters who wanted a better answer.  In truth, we do lose sometimes.  The important thing is to dust off, and go at it again. With the right attitude, we will win more than we lose.  Never sell the Devil short.  Just make sure that the win-loss record stays on your side!

“Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.”  James 4:7

3 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Thank you, Karyl! I needed this today! As you know, it’s my birthday, and things are just NOT going happily. Allen has been sick for over a week, so took him to the doc this a.m., resulting in two prescriptions that are not covered by our insurance. 😦 Then, it appears that the car will need a new fuel pump–around $300 for that little birthday present! Oh, well….at least we’re still breathing, so God has something in store for us, right? 🙂 Life could be SO much worse, and we have to keep counting our blessings or we’ll become instruments of Satan by become discouraged, and I SURELY do NOT want that to happen!

    Enjoy the season, and GO BRAVES!!!

    • Good attitude. Every day, every game, counts. Hope that Allen gets better soon. I certainly understand the car repair woes. I’m sorry the birthday is not the best. Maybe something will happen before the end of the day to make it better yet.

      • Glenda

        Thank you, Karyl. The day has become better, as I knew it would. Even with those little things that tried to discourage me this morning, my life is still rich and full, and I have NOTHING to complain about! 🙂

Leave a Reply

