Hank Weighs In

Another truth derived from my little Hank, the hamster.

My pet size has reduced significantly.  My black lab, Indy, weighed about 75 pounds and the vet would occasionally tell me that I needed to watch her weight.  Indy enjoyed her food and that is what broke my heart when her cancer took over and Indy had to be hand fed in order to eat.  I finally had to make the decision to have her put to rest.

About a month later, I brought home a cute, itty, bitty hamster.  He is a black and white panda hamster.  Today I weighed him on my food scale.  He sat in the little container and looked at me as if to say, “What game are we playing now?”  I have to say, I enjoy all four ounces of him.  Watching him brings so many smiles to my face.  He seems to enjoy my chatter and the pampering I give him. At least, he endures it well!

I am reminded that there is a Biblical reason to care for my little hamster.  Proverbs 12:10 says:  A righteous man hath regard for the life of his beast, but the tender mercies of the wicked are cruel.” So, I keep Hank’s water fresh, his food dish full, he has fresh veggies every day, and I clean out his “potty corner” daily.  He gets play time with me almost every day.  Every morning I make up his little sleeping hamster hut.  When he emerges each evening as darkness falls, I take out the bed, and put in his running wheel.  That’s also when he gets his walnut treat.

Every one of those four ounces is treated with love and kindness.  It is the right thing to do.  The Bible tells me so. If you have a pet, please treat him as the Bible demands and if you have children, please teach them how important it is to take care of any animal we bring into our families.

3 Comments

  1. Glenda

    So much truth here, and it breaks my heart when I see reports of animal abuse or neglect. Folks who cannot take care of these helpless creatures should not take on the responsibility. I’m sure your little Hank knows how much you care for him! 🙂

  2. That very verse was in my devotional reading yesterday in The One-Year Bible (NLT).

  3. I Love this little Guy!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

Leave a Reply

