Gracious and Kind

This is one of many instances when God has been exceptionally kind to me.

This is a homework lesson.  The Bible study group I attend is studying through a book by Elizabeth George entitled:  A Woman who reflects the Heart of Jesus.  The book takes thirty character traits that Jesus displayed during His earthly ministry and challenges the student to reflect those traits in our daily lives.  The lesson on kindness gives us more than ordinary “homework” because it tells us to write out a testimony on a time or times when Jesus has been kind or shown kindness to us personally.  Here goes!

When I was 25 years old and teaching in a Christian school in South Carolina, I had a dreadful summer with pain.  The pain acted as if it were appendicitis and then would stop.  After three of these, I finally decided a doctor visit was in order.  The doctor hospitalized me, ran some tests, and diagnosed it as chronic appendicitis.  Single and far from my parents, I underwent surgery.  After all, this is a simple procedure, right?

 

No.  It was not.  In ten days the doctor called me in for an office visit.  He had routinely examined the ovaries while he had my abdomen open, and taken off a little bitty tumor.  It came back malignant.  This time, I went home and my family doctor arranged for me to see an oncologist.  I was prepared for a total hysterectomy.  The year was 1968.  The research doctor on the surgical team decided to take just the right ovary.  I returned for three month visits and all seemed well.  In God’s kindness, He allowed me to marry the following June and I had a baby boy on June 15, 1971.  In 1972 I had a baby girl.  In 1974 another little girl arrived in our home.

In His gracious kindness God allowed me to rear three children.  They are all saved, they all graduated from Christian colleges, and all are married to Christian college graduates.  I now have ten beautiful and handsome grandchildren.  In 1979, God in His loving, gracious kindness, allowed my gynecologist to discover cancer on my remaining ovary and spared my life to finish rearing my family.  Since then, I have been cancer-free.  God has been very kind to me. Samuel told the nation of Israel in his parting words to them as their judge:   “Only fear the Lord and serve Him in truth with all your heart:  for consider what great things He hath done for you.”

I can honestly say that I would not trade the life-lessons God taught me in those 11 years.  His kindness to me is—priceless. Since He spared my life, what more can I do but give my life for His glory?  After reading this, I know you must know why I named this weblog, theshepherdspresence.

5 Comments

  1. I remember. You are a trophy of God’s grace, my dear friend.

  2. Glenda

    I did not know this about you, and I am so thankful, with you, that God led you through all those times and has kept you through it all, and more besides! Thank you for sharing your heart with us.

  3. Roe

    God shows his kindness in so many ways. However, He has shown great kindness through this trial. It is good to see how God can show us his love through the things this world would call tragedies.

  4. Roe

    I am very thankful God has allowed me to enjoy my mother for so many years and pray for many more.

    • Thank you, Denise. As I face my soon coming birthday, it is a blessing to have been used by God during these three score and ten. One thing I did not mention is the fact that I went through two cancer surgeries and NO Chemotherapy. I wonder how many people may be going through chemo needlessly??

Leave a Reply

