Hank’s Great Escape

In his baby days, Hank wanted nothing more than to find a way out of his habitat.  Like all of us, he did not understand how very safe he was within the boundaries of his little world.  As he grew into a more mature Hank, he knew that when I picked him up, he would be outside and free for a little while.  His little hamster mind, and I mean little, seemed to understand that he was safe with me because I kept my eye on his travels and kept him within my sight.

Last Friday evening Hank made an escape that I did not anticipate.  He had been rather docile and droopy all day and while I was away at my grandson’s piano recital, Hank escaped to where ever hamsters go when they die.  I knew him only four months.  He had just reached maturity.  Yesterday my little nine-year old grandson and I “planted” him in a garden spot.  This week I’ll buy a lily to put over his burial spot.  I miss him.

Hank was a well loved hamster and I did enjoy him very much.  In a couple of weeks, I’ll get another one and hope to have the next one longer.  The expected life expectancy of a hamster is two years.

I just turned 70 which according to Psalm 90 is my life expectancy.  “The days of our years are three score and ten; and if by reason of strength they be four score years, yet is their strength labor and sorrow; for it is soon cut off and we fly away.”  As I wrote only recently, we must learn to say, “If the Lord wills.”  I planned to have Hank his maximum of two years but he flew away.  I have plans for tomorrow, but one never knows.  I am ready to fly away for I know I am Heaven bound.  Eternity matters.  Are you ready?

Observing Hank as a life lesson guy, he taught me many things. What is it around you from which you can learn valuable, every day living?  If you just allow quietness around you, before you know it you will be thinking, “Well, that is like. . .” and when you see those things, I hope you will return to this blog and share them with me.  Just comment on any post and say, “Karyl, you know what. . .” and I will be delighted to hear from you.

6 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Karyl, I know you miss your little buddy, and I think you are wise to get another one as soon as you can. These fur babies teach us so much, if we’ll just pay attention.

    As for little things that remind me of something….this one happened this afternoon. I have a Facebook friend who lives about 2-3 miles from us, and she is always reacting to whatever the weather is. When we had a few snow flurries during the past winter, she would shout, “It’s snowing!” She was always so worried because of the snow, but we never had enough to keep us from doing what we needed to do for more than a day or two. Yesterday afternoon, when the rain started, she was bemoaning the forecast for the next several days, which includes a lot of rainy days. I reminded her of the sunny days we had last week, and that the forecast included some sunny days this week. She simply said she was “over it!” Well, this afternoon, around 3:30-4:00, the rain stopped, and it has not started back up yet. I did not see a single post from her exclaiming that the sun was shining! I thought, it’s just like God to bring out the sunshine to prove to the complainers that HE is still the One Who decides these things for us! Just a small thing, but it meant a lot to me, and I hope she was thankful for the sunshine. It’s not expected to be seen very much for the next couple of days, but we know that it will shine again, and we can have the SONshine in our hearts always!

    • Thank you for sharing an observation. Although we may not see the sunshine as bright and clear skies, it IS shining or it would be very dark and cold. Come August and it is hot and dry, then the bright, hot sun gets complaints too. Regardless of what ecologists think, God is in control of the weather!

  2. So sorry to hear about Hank! It is never easy to say goodbye to the ones we love–human or otherwise. Pets are family, too. My thoughts and prayers are with you. Take care! 🙂

    • Thank you for your sweet expression of sympathy. I do miss him. I’ll try again, but am giving it a little time.

  3. Thank you for the wonderful posts with Hank illustrating our relationship with God, at its best and worst. I hope you will soon have another furry example in your life to draw lessons from to share with us.

  4. Aw, Karyl. I’m behind with my blog-reading, didn’t see this one until just today. I’m sorry. I enjoyed your posts about Hank, and I’ll look forward to your new little hamster friend.

Leave a Reply

