Quotes about Mother

I admit it.  I miss my mother.  She lived her last 6 years with me under my care.  Although her mental state was unstable, her instability was somewhat predictable.  Altzheimer’s steals away bits and pieces of memory and it has always been a blessing to me that she always recognized me.  This week I’ve looked back at devotionals I have written for mother/daughter events and giving you little tidbits.  Here are a few more:

“A mother is a person who seeing there are only four pieces of pie for five people, promptly announces that she never did care for pie”

“Mother love is the fuel that enables a normal human being to do the impossible.”

“A mother is the only creature on earth who can cry when she’s happy, laugh when she’s heartbroken, and work when she is ill.”

“Real mothers know that a child’s growth is not measured by height or years, or grade but it the progression of Mama, to Mommy, to Mother.”

“A mother’s love brings peace.  It need not be acquired and it need not be deserved.”

Yes, mother love is designed, enabled, and blessed by God.

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Glenda

    I think about my own dear mother so much, as various situations come up in my life, and I remember how she always handled such situations with a quiet faith and grace. Her greatest fear was that she’d be a burden to someone, or that her mind would fail and she’d be hateful to others. God honored her faithfulness and took her from us quietly, with no pain or resistance. I still miss her, and wish that I had more of her wonderful qualities. No, she wasn’t perfect, but she was Mother, and she loved her family with her whole heart. Thank you for bringing back some wonderful memories. I wonder how my children will think of me when the time comes that I’m no longer here….

  2. So beautiful. I wouldn’t trade the last few years of my mom’s life caring for her before she passed away for anything in the world. Moms are a very special species. I miss mine so much at times. Hug… 🙂 Take care! 😀

Leave a Reply

