Adrian Rogers Speaks

The Christian Radio station I most listen to does not carry these broadcasts.  I get the Facebook posts on a schedule I can’t figure out.  Here is today’s 330 word composition that is packed with homespun wisdom.  I’ll never figure out why people make things to difficult to understand with lots of flowery words when the plain spoken words are best, (in my opinion, of course).

From “Love Worth Finding”  Adrian Rogers, long time pastor in Memphis, TN  Pastor Rogers has been in Heaven since 2005 but his words still speaks from the pages of his broadcasts.

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.” The Lord is the only one we can put our full trust in. Do you find it difficult to trust in the LORD, especially with all your heart? Do you have a half-hearted trust? Do you want me to tell you why? You may not like what you’re going to hear, but…it’s because you don’t love the LORD. You see, you can’t trust a person you don’t love.
Have you ever had anyone come up to you and say, “Hey, will you do something for me?” What’s your first question? “Well, what is it?” And they say, “Never mind what it is. Just trust me.” Will you do it? No. But suppose my wife comes to me, and she says, “Adrian, will you do something for me?” I say, “What is it, Joyce?” She says, “Never mind. Just trust me.” I know her enough, I love her enough, I know she loves me enough that she would not do anything to harm me or put me in a position that would not be for my welfare. And I could say, “I’ll do it.” Why? Because I love her! It’s hard to trust someone you don’t love. Why don’t you love Him? Because you don’t know Him. Friend, if you knew Him, you’d love Him because He’s altogether lovely. He is altogether trustworthy. The people who don’t love Him are those who don’t know Him. Why don’t we know Him? Because we’re not spending time with Him. You can’t love someone you don’t spend time with. You can’t know someone you don’t spend time with. But as we come to know Him, we come to love Him. And as we come to love Him, we come to trust Him. And as we come to trust Him, we come to obey Him. And as we obey Him, we are blessed by Him.

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Glenda

    Dr. Rogers’ teachings are always straight-forward and easy to understand. No flowery words or expressions, just plain truth, and I thank you for sharing this with us today. I think I’ll share it on my FB page…. 🙂

    • For some reason, this just made such practical sense, and it is the length I usually write. It just fit. Katie recently asked me how I stay under 400 words. It does take discipline and work to be short and yet make a decent point. I happen to think it is worth the effort. Maybe because I like simple, yet profound. I usually grammar check my posts for readability and actually have to rewrite sometimes to keep it at 5th or 6th grade level. Active voice is important too. I appreciate good writing that is at an understandable level. Therefore, I appreciate Pastor Rogers.

Leave a Reply

