D-Day

D-Day is always very sobering to me.  Yesterday I met a gentleman whose father is buried in France, a soldier who gave his life for the cause of a free world.   This morning I went in search of a few numbers to share with my friends at Hickory Creek Retirement Center and found the short message that General Eisenhower shared just prior to the invasion.  He ended the short speech with this:

“And let us all beseech the blessings of Almighty God upon this great and noble undertaking.”

Later, it was under the Eisenhower Administration that “under God” was added to our Pledge of Allegiance.

I was one year old on D-Day.  It is always a sobering day for me.  I want to thank those of my readers who have a father, brother, uncle, or grandfather buried in France.  They purchased great freedom for me and tears roll down my cheeks as I type in this message. I thank them from the very bottom of my heart.

If you want to hear Eisenhower’s words there is a recording at http://www.army.mil/d-day/

 

4 Comments

  1. Glenda

    President Eisenhower is the first president that I remember, and I recall that my second-grade teacher talked so much about the Korean conflict that I was afraid to go to sleep at night! We were quite close to Oak Ridge, and she told us that, if a bomb hit Oak Ridge, we would all be goners! Of course, that didn’t happen, but I was too young to appreciate the power of negotiation that shortened that conflict. It seems only within the last few years that we are learning that Eisenhower had such a great faith in God. My calendar does not even mention D-day today, and it is one of those times that will be forgotten by most. I know that I hadn’t thought about it, so I thank you for this reminder of another time of great sacrifice by our military forces.

  2. Sobering indeed. If all those who died could see the shape America is in today, they would be weeping with you.

    • I wasn’t evesdropping on purpose but while I spent a little time at the AAC reading while waiting for the BP checks, I head two War Veterans, I presume Viet Nam, one of whom had been a POW. I thought, I walk past people with vivid memories of terrible times everyday, I suppose. We need to be so careful about what we say and how we say it.

      • For sure. Lots of pain out there.

Leave a Reply

